University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)?

Wits says its general English proficiency route is an IELTS pass with a minimum test score of 6.5, or Cambridge English (CAE) with 185 points. Its postgraduate documents guide repeats 6.5 overall for applicants whose schooling and degrees were not in English. The Graduate Entry Medical Programme asks for more.Source: University of the Witwatersrand (Wits) official English requirements · checked 4 November 2026
  • Guide updated · 4 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 4 November 2026

Wits IELTS scores by programme

Wits' English language page gives one minimum for undergraduate and postgraduate applicants and does not list band minimums. The postgraduate supporting documents guide and the Graduate Entry Medical Programme page add detail.

ProgrammeIELTSOther tests
Undergraduate and postgraduate (general)6.5 minimum test scoreCambridge CAE 185
Postgraduate, if school and degree were not in English6.5 overall at leastNot stated in the guide
Graduate Entry Medical Programme (GEMP)Page lists 7 overall in one place and 8 in all components in anotherNot stated

Other accepted tests and exemptions

Without a test, Wits accepts a pass equivalent to English at Higher Grade (First or Second Language) at South African matriculation level, or a pass in English Language at GCSE, GCE or IGCSE Ordinary level or an equivalent examination.

In exceptional cases Wits may recognise TOEFL with at least 600 on the paper-based test, 250 on the computer-based test or 100 on the internet-based test.

For postgraduate applications, the supporting documents guide asks for an IELTS test only if your secondary school leaving and tertiary studies were not completed at an English-medium institution.

Free test: are you at the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)'s score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

English courses, medicine and how to check

Wits Plus offers short courses including English for University Success, English Fundamentals and General English. The English page points to them for applicants who want to improve their English, and does not present them as a route into a degree.

The GEMP page is stricter than the general rule. It lists an IELTS score of at least 7 in one place and says a minimum score of 8 is required for all components in another, so confirm the exact requirement with the medical school before booking a test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Wits programme page and in your offer, so check it there before you book a test.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits) publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score does Wits require?+

Wits lists IELTS with a minimum test score of 6.5 for admission, or Cambridge CAE with 185 points.

Does Wits give band minimums?+

The English language page gives only the 6.5 test score. The postgraduate guide says an overall score of at least 6.5.

Does Wits accept TOEFL?+

Only in exceptional cases, at 600 paper-based, 250 computer-based or 100 internet-based.

Do postgraduate applicants always need IELTS?+

No. The guide asks for it if your secondary school and tertiary studies were not completed at an English-medium institution.

Is the medical programme higher?+

Yes. The Graduate Entry Medical Programme page lists IELTS 7 overall in one place and a minimum of 8 in all components in another. Check with the programme.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 4 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy