University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Alba Graduate Business School?

Alba Graduate Business School in Athens asks for IELTS 6.5 for its MBA and MSc programmes. It also accepts TOEFL 100, Duolingo 125, or Cambridge, Michigan or MSU Proficiency. Native English speakers and graduates of undergraduate or graduate degrees taught exclusively in English need no certificate. The page lists no band minimums.Source: Alba Graduate Business School official English requirements · checked 4 November 2026
  • Guide updated · 4 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 4 November 2026

Alba English scores

From Alba's admission requirements page. The MBA and MSc entries use the same English requirement. The page asks for an "excellent command of English language".

ProgrammeIELTSOther tests
MBA (The Alba MBA, The Alba MBA with Shipping)6.5TOEFL 100; Duolingo 125; Cambridge, Michigan or MSU Proficiency
MSc in Management, Strategic HRM, Finance, Marketing, Shipping Management6.5TOEFL 100; Duolingo 125; Cambridge, Michigan or MSU Proficiency
Executive MBANot stated on this pagePage asks for proof of English and links a separate PDF

Exemptions and other requirements

Native English speakers, and graduates of undergraduate or graduate degrees taught exclusively in English, do not need to submit English certificates. This is useful for applicants with an English-medium bachelor's from India, Pakistan, Nigeria or Bangladesh, but confirm with Alba what evidence it wants for the medium of instruction.

MBA applicants need a bachelor's degree and at least 3 years of work experience. MSc applicants need a bachelor's degree. GMAT (minimum 515) or GRE (minimum 155) strengthens an application but the page does not state it as mandatory. Every applicant sends transcripts, two recommendation letters, three essays, a recent photo and English proof.

Free test: are you at Alba Graduate Business School's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Fees, dates and how to check

The application fee is a non-refundable EUR 60. Applications are accepted year-round, and those received after a programme starts are considered for the next intake. The page lists no fixed deadlines.

Alba does not state a PTE Academic score on this page, so do not assume one is accepted.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Alba programme page and in your offer, so check it there before you book a test.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where Alba Graduate Business School publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score does Alba Graduate Business School need?+

IELTS 6.5 for the MBA and MSc programmes, with no band minimums on the page.

Does Alba accept Duolingo?+

Yes. The page lists Duolingo at 125, alongside TOEFL 100 and IELTS 6.5.

Can I skip the English test at Alba?+

Native English speakers and graduates of degrees taught exclusively in English do not need to submit English certificates.

Is GMAT compulsory at Alba?+

The page says a GMAT (minimum 515) or GRE (minimum 155) strengthens an application but does not state it as mandatory.

How much is the Alba application fee?+

EUR 60, non-refundable.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 4 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy