ATU's minimum English scores
Scores are from ATU Global's English language and entry requirements page, which lists accepted qualifications for international undergraduate and postgraduate courses. Undergraduates applying directly or through the CAO, not through ATU Global, are pointed to a separate entry requirements document on the same page.
| Test | Undergraduate | Postgraduate |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 5.5, with 5.0 in each component | 6.0, with 5.5 in each component |
| PTE Academic | 51 | 55 |
| Duolingo English Test | 95, with at least 90 in each section | 105, with at least 100 in each section |
| TOEFL iBT | 70 (pre-January 2026 scale) or 3.5 (new scale) | 80 (pre-January 2026 scale) or 4 (new scale) |
| Cambridge Advanced | Grade C | Grade B |
| Oxford Test of English | 111, no component below 100 | 125, no component below 100 |
No MOI letters, two-year validity
ATU states plainly that Medium of Instruction (MOI) letters are not accepted, so an English-medium degree certificate from India does not replace a test score. English language qualifications are only valid if completed within two years of the course start date. ATU also lists TOEFL paper-based, TOEIC, Trinity and ETAPP scores, and says some secondary school qualifications can count if English was taken at an appropriate level; ask the ATU Global Office which ones.
PTE component minimums are not stated by ATU. A position on IELTS One Skill Retake and IELTS Online is not stated by ATU, and a pre-sessional English route is not stated on its English requirements page.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →IELTS for the Irish study visa is a separate check
This guide covers ATU's admission requirement. The study visa is a separate check: the Irish Immigration Service sets a visa minimum of IELTS Academic 5.0 (PTE Academic 30) for courses other than second-level, foundation or English language courses, and says your college's own minimum may be different. Meeting the visa minimum does not get you an offer; ATU's score is the one to aim for. Country-level detail is in our IELTS for Ireland guide.
Requirements are set per intake and can change. Check the ATU English language page and your course page before you book a test. Read on 8 October 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Is IELTS 6.0 enough for a master's at ATU?+
Yes, provided each component is at least 5.5. Some courses add their own admissions criteria, shown on the course page.
What PTE score does ATU accept?+
PTE Academic 51 for undergraduate and 55 for postgraduate courses. ATU does not state component minimums for PTE.
Does ATU accept the Duolingo English Test?+
Yes. 95 with at least 90 in each section for undergraduate, and 105 with at least 100 in each section for postgraduate.
Does ATU accept a Medium of Instruction letter instead of IELTS?+
No. ATU states that Medium of Instruction letters are not accepted.
How old can my IELTS result be for ATU?+
ATU says English language qualifications are only valid if completed within two years of the course start date.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for Ireland: visa minimum and university scores
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- IELTS band score calculator
- University of Galway IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy