The short answer
Our pick is BandLadder, and we publish this page. It has the most free scored tests we could confirm among the 12 platforms we checked on 6 November 2026: 280 Reading and Listening sectional and timed tests for PTE Academic and Core, against 4 at PTE Mocks and 1 each at Alfa PTE and RealPTE. Its full question bank is also the largest we found: 58,000+ questions against 9,600+ at RealPTE. It adds 5 speaking and 2 writing AI marks every day, with no card. We are not the most generous on daily marks alone: RealPTE gives 10 AI scores a day across every task type, and OnePTE's pricing table says 5 speaking and 5 writing. Alfa PTE, Gurully and APEUni give 3 writing marks in total, not per day. BandLadder also has the widest set of study tools we found, with free access to Solve Along, Vocab Books, Grammar Hub, shadowing, the paraphraser, lessons, Shorts and the AI Study Centre, some of them with limits.
Disclosure: BandLadder publishes this comparison and includes itself. Every fact about the other platforms was read on that platform's own website or store listing on 6 November 2026; prices and free allowances change, so check before you pay. Treat any list that includes its author with healthy scepticism, and try the free tiers yourself.
Checked 6 November 2026
What each PTE platform gives free
| Platform | Free full mocks | Free scored Reading and Listening | Free AI speaking and writing marks | Renews daily? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BandLadder | 1 | 280 sectional and timed tests, Academic and Core | 5 speaking and 2 writing a day | Yes, both skills |
| RealPTE | 1 | 1 part or mini test | 10 AI scores a day in total, on every task type | Yes, both skills share the 10 |
| PTE24 | 1 a month | Not stated | 10 attempts a day, but its terms limit free accounts to a set of question types; writing not confirmed | Yes; writing not confirmed |
| PTE Core Practice (Core only) | Not stated | Not stated | 10 attempts per module a day; AI scoring labelled on speaking and writing tasks | Yes, as stated |
| PTEasy | None | Not stated | 5 attempts a day; skills not stated | Yes; skills not stated |
| OnePTE | 1 Academic and 1 Core | Not mentioned | Its table says 5 of each a day; its FAQ says 2 of each | Yes, both skills |
| Alfa PTE | 1 | 1 sectional mock | 5 checks a day; writing and summarise spoken text 3 in total | Speaking yes, writing no |
| Gurully | 1 | Unclear: its pricing table is misaligned | 5 speaking a day; 3 writing in total | Speaking yes, writing no |
| PTE Mocks | 1 Academic and 1 Core | 4 (1 each, Academic and Core) | 2 questions per task type | No |
| EdKnot | 1 | None: sectional mocks are paid | Question practice is scored free; no cap stated | Not stated |
| APEUni (older help pages) | Not stated | Not stated | 5 speaking a day; 3 writing in total | Speaking yes, writing no |
| Pearson AI Practice (read 26 October) | None: a diagnostic test | None | Sample AI scoring on sample questions | No |
A platform can offer more than its public pages state. Where a page gives no limit, the table says so. Gurully's pricing table lists unlimited section-wise tests in a row with a missing column, so we could not tell whether that covers free accounts. Tell us about anything we have missed through our contact page and we will correct it.
Beyond the marks
What else a free BandLadder account opens
- Solve Along: 2 full voiced walkthroughs per question type.
- AI Study Centre: Open to every learner.
- Shorts: 200+ one-minute videos, no login needed.
- Grammar Hub: Lessons with limits, and 2 AI drill checks a day.
- Paraphraser: 2 a day.
- Study material: 90+ lessons and 9 books to read online with a free account; book PDFs come with a plan.
- Vocab Books: The first 20 words of each book.
- Shadowing: A limited number of free rounds.
- PTE 90 coach: One response opened in full, once per account.
Details
The platforms
BandLadder
That's usBest for: The largest published PTE question bank in this list, with PTE Academic and PTE Core in one Premium plan and prices in your local currency
- ✓One Premium plan covers PTE Academic and PTE Core.
- ✓40+ full-length PTE mocks (20+ Academic, 20+ Core) in the real order and timing, 550+ timed and sectional tests and 58k+ questions.
- ✓Speaking and writing AI-scored on Pearson's traits, with feedback on what cost the marks.
- ✓Free PTE to IELTS converter, CLB calculator and monthly prediction pages.
- ✓Solve Along talks you through each question step by step, and the PTE 90 coach walks your own answer up to a 90-level version. Plans include recorded video lectures.
!Consider: No human marking or live classes (lectures are recorded), and no CELPIP, OET or Duolingo. The apps are new and have few store ratings yet.
Try BandLadder free →OnePTE
Best for: The cheapest paid PTE access priced in US dollars
- ✓Low one-time prices with unlimited AI scoring on every paid plan.
- ✓Quick to start.
!Consider: The free tier caps AI scoring per day.
Alfa PTE
Best for: A highly rated app with a large question bank
- ✓Large bank and the option to build your own mocks.
- ✓The best-rated PTE app in this list.
!Consider: Premium pricing is not published before sign-up.
Read our Alfa PTE review: prices, free tier, pros and cons →Gurully
Best for: One account across four exams, with a big PTE question bank
- ✓Covers the most exams of any platform here.
- ✓IELTS writing and speaking are marked by human experts.
!Consider: GST is added on top, and the app is PTE-only and rated lower than most.
Read our Gurully review: prices, free tier, pros and cons →PTE Mocks
Best for: A free test in every category, with low weekly Premium pricing
- ✓Free AI-scored tests with no card.
- ✓Free written advice from a coach, answered within a day.
!Consider: Premium renews automatically, and the question bank is small (220 questions).
EdKnot
Best for: Low rupee prices with no auto-renewal
- ✓About 21,000 questions and prepaid plans that do not auto-renew.
- ✓Covers PTE Academic UKVI.
!Consider: Prices are introductory offers under a fair-usage policy, and no app is mentioned.
APEUni
Best for: A large community and a long-established free AI practice app
- ✓The best-known PTE practice app, with a very large community and a Teacher Mode.
- ✓Good for repetition on individual task types.
!Consider: VIP prices are not public until you sign up. PTE only.
Read our APEUni review: prices, free tier, pros and cons →Pearson Official PTE AI Practice
Best for: Questions written by the test's own developer, scored on the official traits
- ✓The only practice written and scored by Pearson itself.
- ✓The Academic plan includes 15 full mocks, 20 sectional tests and 1,000+ questions.
!Consider: The most expensive option here, and Pearson says each mock can only be taken once.
Check the free tier yourself
Make a free account, no card, and take a scored Reading or Listening test now.
Practise PTE free →Frequently asked questions
What is the best free PTE practice platform in 2027?+
Our pick is BandLadder, and we publish this page. It has the most free scored tests we could confirm among the 12 platforms we checked on 6 November 2026: 280 Reading and Listening sectional and timed tests for PTE Academic and Core, against 4 at PTE Mocks and 1 each at Alfa PTE and RealPTE. Its full question bank is also the largest we found: 58,000+ questions against 9,600+ at RealPTE. It adds 5 speaking and 2 writing AI marks every day, with no card. We are not the most generous on daily marks alone: RealPTE gives 10 AI scores a day across every task type, and OnePTE's pricing table says 5 speaking and 5 writing. Alfa PTE, Gurully and APEUni give 3 writing marks in total, not per day. BandLadder also has the widest set of study tools we found, with free access to Solve Along, Vocab Books, Grammar Hub, shadowing, the paraphraser, lessons, Shorts and the AI Study Centre, some of them with limits.
Are PTE Reading and Listening tests free on BandLadder?+
Yes. All 280 Reading and Listening sectional and timed tests are free to take and scored with a free account. The full review of each attempt, including feedback and explanations, is part of Premium.
Which PTE platform gives the most free AI scoring a day?+
RealPTE gives 10 a day, shared across every task type including writing. PTE24 also advertises 10, but its terms limit free accounts to a set of question types and we could not confirm that writing is one of them. PTE Core Practice advertises 10 attempts per module a day for PTE Core, and PTEasy 5 attempts a day. BandLadder gives 5 speaking and 2 writing a day. OnePTE's table says 5 of each, while its FAQ says 2 of each. Alfa PTE gives 5 checks a day but only 3 in total for writing and Summarize Spoken Text, and Gurully gives 5 speaking a day and 3 writing in total. APEUni's older help pages say the same as Gurully.
Is the platform with the most daily AI scores the most generous?+
Not on its own. Compare what else the free account opens. RealPTE gives 10 AI scores a day, trait scores, word-by-word marks, model answers and 2 AI coach questions a day, on 9,600+ questions, with 1 part or mini test. BandLadder gives 5 speaking and 2 writing scores a day, 280 scored Reading and Listening tests and Solve Along walkthroughs, from a 58,000+ question bank, though its model answers and full review come with a plan.
Which PTE platform has the most study tools besides practice questions?+
BandLadder has the widest set we found: Solve Along, the PTE 90 coach, Vocab Books, Grammar Hub, shadowing, the paraphraser, lessons and books, Shorts and the AI Study Centre, each with free access and some with limits. APEUni is the closest, listing Vocab Books, shadowing, study materials and prediction files, though its pages do not say which are free. OnePTE keeps shadow reading for VIP members, Alfa PTE offers strategy videos and limited templates free, and RealPTE's pages do not list vocabulary, shadowing or grammar tools.
How detailed is the free feedback on a PTE answer?+
We submitted one flawed Summarize Spoken Text answer to each of BandLadder and RealPTE on 6 November 2026, on different lectures. RealPTE showed trait scores, errors underlined in the text with some fixes on hover, 2 written grammar corrections, 3 missed points and an open model answer. BandLadder showed trait scores, an explanation for each trait, the missing or strong main ideas, each grammar and vocabulary fix, and every spelling fix listed; its model answer is locked for free accounts. It is one answer each, so treat it as a sample.
Which PTE platform has the most free full mock tests?+
PTE24 gives one full mock a month. OnePTE and PTE Mocks each give one full mock for PTE Academic and one for PTE Core. RealPTE, Alfa PTE, Gurully and EdKnot each give one, and so does BandLadder. Pearson's free option is a diagnostic test rather than a full mock.
What is not free on BandLadder?+
More full mocks, unlimited AI scoring, Speaking and Writing sectional tests beyond the free attempt, and the full review of each attempt come with a plan, which you buy for a set number of days. BandLadder scores are practice estimates from its own AI, not Pearson's engine.
Head to head
BandLadder compared one by one
Reviews
Honest reviews of each platform
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy