Disclosure: BandLadder publishes this comparison and includes itself. Every fact about the other platforms was read on that platform's own website or store listing on 27 September 2026; prices and free allowances change, so check before you pay. Treat any list that includes its author with healthy scepticism, and try the free tiers yourself.
Checked 27 September 2026
PTE platforms side by side
| Platform | Exams | Free | Cheapest paid option | Speaking & writing scoring | App |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BandLadder | PTE Academic, PTE Core, IELTS Academic, IELTS General | 1 full mock plus 5 speaking and 2 writing AI evaluations a day; no card | From 7 days, priced in your local currency | AI, in minutes | iOS and Android |
| Pearson Official PTE AI Practice | PTE Academic, PTE Core | Diagnostic tests and sample questions with sample AI scoring; no card | US$29.99 for 7 days; a single Scored Practice Test is US$35.99 | AI (Pearson says it is the same engine as the real test) | Not stated |
| APEUni | PTE Academic, PTE Core | Question practice with AI scoring; free question count not stated | Not published before sign-up (VIP via in-app purchase) | AI (its own engine) | iOS and Android; Play 4.2★ from 9,000+ reviews, 1M+ downloads |
| Alfa PTE | PTE Academic, PTE Core (IELTS on a separate app) | 20,000 practice questions with limited AI scoring, 1 full mock and 1 sectional mock; no card | Premium in 10 to 90-day options; price not shown on the page | AI (claims 95% accuracy, self-reported) | iOS and Android; PTE app 4.9★ on Play |
| Gurully | PTE, IELTS, Duolingo English Test, CELPIP | 1 full mock after sign-up, limited scoring on 30,000+ questions, 5 speaking AI checks a day; no card | ₹550 + GST for 7 days (PTE Prime) | AI for PTE, instant | PTE app on iOS and Android; Play 3.4★ |
| OnePTE | PTE Academic, PTE Core | Limited mock and tool access; AI scoring capped at 5 a day | US$4.99 for 7 days | AI, real time; unlimited on paid plans | iOS and Android |
| PTE Mocks | PTE Academic, PTE Core | Everything during launch: 11 full mocks, 20 sectional tests, a 220-question bank; email sign-in, no card | None during launch | AI, in seconds | No (web, works on mobile) |
| EdKnot | PTE Academic, PTE Academic UKVI, PTE Core | 1 full scored mock, 1 sectional test per section and 15 AI score reviews a day; no card | ₹349 for 15 days (introductory offer) | AI, all four skills | Not stated |
| PTE Success | PTE Academic, PTE Core, PTE UKVI | A free account with a free mock test; counts not stated | Bronze: AUD 19 for 30 days, one-off (prices shown vary by location) | AI | iOS and Android |
| Language Academy | PTE Academic, PTE Core | A free mock test, a free trial class and a free app; counts not stated | Online platform from AUD 29; plan length not stated publicly | AI, with paid expert score reviews and tutor feedback | iOS and Android |
| E2Language | PTE Academic, PTE Core | 14 days free, no credit card | Express: US$75.90 including GST for 90 days | AI on the entry plan; tutor-marked within 48 hours on Silver and Gold | Not stated |
| PTE Magic | PTE Academic, PTE Core | A free consultation; free mock count not stated | Strategy Pass US$39 for 100 days (no mocks); PTE Boost AUD 259 with 2 weeks of classes and 30 days of AI practice | AI, with trainer reviews of mocks on class packages | iOS and Android |
| VLE (Vision Language Experts) | PTE Academic | A free mock test at its Sydney and Melbourne centres and a free trial class | Basic: $19 for 1 mock (currency and access length not stated) | AI scorecards with teacher feedback | Not stated |
Ranked
The platforms
BandLadder
That's usBest for: PTE Academic and PTE Core in one pass, with AI scoring and prices in your local currency
- ✓One pass covers PTE Academic and PTE Core.
- ✓40+ full-length PTE mocks (20+ Academic, 20+ Core) in the real order and timing, 550+ timed and sectional tests and 58k+ questions.
- ✓Speaking and writing AI-scored on Pearson's traits, with feedback on what cost the marks.
- ✓Free PTE to IELTS converter, CLB calculator and monthly prediction pages.
!Consider: No human marking or live classes, and no CELPIP, OET or Duolingo. The apps are new and have few store ratings yet.
Try BandLadder free →Pearson Official PTE AI Practice
Best for: Questions written by the test's own developer, scored on the official traits
- ✓The only practice written and scored by Pearson itself.
- ✓The Academic plan includes 15 full mocks, 20 sectional tests and 1,000+ questions.
!Consider: The most expensive option here, and Pearson says each mock can only be taken once.
APEUni
Best for: A large community and a long-established free AI practice app
- ✓The best-known PTE practice app, with a very large community and a Teacher Mode.
- ✓Good for repetition on individual task types.
!Consider: VIP prices are not public until you sign up. PTE only.
Alfa PTE
Best for: A highly rated app with a large question bank
- ✓Large bank and the option to build your own mocks.
- ✓The best-rated PTE app in this list.
!Consider: Premium pricing is not published, and the accuracy figure is its own claim.
Gurully
Best for: One account across four exams, with a big PTE question bank
- ✓Covers the most exams of any platform here.
- ✓IELTS writing and speaking are marked by human experts.
!Consider: GST is added on top, and the app is PTE-only and rated lower than most.
OnePTE
Best for: The cheapest paid PTE access priced in US dollars
- ✓Low one-time prices with unlimited AI scoring on every paid plan.
- ✓Quick to start.
!Consider: The free tier caps AI scoring per day and the number of free mocks is not stated.
PTE Mocks
Best for: Fully free mocks while its launch offer lasts
- ✓Genuinely free full mocks with AI scoring today.
- ✓Free written advice from a coach, answered within a day.
!Consider: Launch pricing can change, and the question bank is small.
EdKnot
Best for: Low rupee prices with no auto-renewal
- ✓About 21,000 questions and prepaid plans that do not auto-renew.
- ✓Covers PTE Academic UKVI.
!Consider: Prices are introductory offers under a fair-usage policy, and no app is mentioned.
PTE Success
Best for: Australian-built AI practice with one-off plans that do not auto-renew
- ✓Plans are one-off payments; the site says they do not auto-renew.
- ✓Covers PTE Academic, Core and UKVI.
!Consider: No human marking is offered. Read on its site on 14 October 2026.
Language Academy
Best for: AI practice alongside an Australian coaching institute's classes and tutors
- ✓Practice platform, live classes and tutor feedback from one provider.
- ✓Expert score reviews are offered on top of AI scoring.
!Consider: The site says payments are strictly non-refundable, and plan details need a login. Read on its site on 14 October 2026.
E2Language
Best for: A 14-day free trial and tutor-marked practice on higher plans
- ✓A 14-day free trial with no credit card.
- ✓Higher plans add human marking within 48 hours.
!Consider: Prices are shown in US dollars only, and the site does not say whether plans renew. Read on its site on 14 October 2026.
PTE Magic
Best for: Short intensive class packages with AI practice included
- ✓Packages combine live classes with AI practice.
- ✓Trainers review mock tests on class packages.
!Consider: No public price for the practice platform on its own; the cheapest pass has no mocks. Read on its sites on 14 October 2026.
VLE (Vision Language Experts)
Best for: Mock tests with teacher feedback, plus centres in Sydney and Melbourne
- ✓AI scorecards come with teacher feedback.
- ✓In-person mock tests at its Sydney and Melbourne centres.
!Consider: PTE Academic only, and the site does not state the currency or how long access lasts. Read on its site on 14 October 2026.
See where BandLadder fits
Practise PTE free with AI scoring and judge for yourself.
Try BandLadder free →Frequently asked questions
What is the best PTE practice platform in 2026?+
It depends on budget and how you study. Pearson's own AI Practice is the most exam-accurate but the most expensive (from US$29.99 for 7 days). For PTE and IELTS in one account with AI scoring, BandLadder plans start at 7 days, priced in your local currency. For the cheapest paid access in US dollars, OnePTE starts at US$4.99. For a large community app, APEUni is the best known.
Which PTE platform has a free full mock test?+
PTE Mocks gives 11 full mocks free during its launch; Gurully, Alfa PTE and EdKnot each give one full mock after sign-up, and so does BandLadder. Pearson's free option is a diagnostic test rather than a full mock. Checked 27 September 2026.
Which PTE practice platform is cheapest?+
Among the platforms that publish prices, OnePTE is cheapest in US dollars (US$4.99 for 7 days) and EdKnot in rupees (₹349 for 15 days on an introductory offer). PTE Mocks charges nothing during its launch. Pearson's official practice is the most expensive.
Which PTE practice platforms are Australian?+
PTE Success, Language Academy, PTE Magic and VLE are Australian platforms. PTE Success sells one-off plans from AUD 19 for 30 days; E2Language gives 14 days free with no card. Language Academy, PTE Magic and VLE pair practice with classes or teacher feedback. Read on their own sites on 14 October 2026.
Do these platforms use real AI scoring?+
Every platform here scores PTE speaking and writing with AI, and E2Language, PTE Magic, Language Academy and VLE add human review on some plans. Only Pearson's AI Practice uses Pearson's own engine; every other score is an estimate from the platform's own model. Treat any practice score as a guide, not an official result.
Head to head
BandLadder compared one by one
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy