Edinburgh Napier's levels by test
From Edinburgh Napier's English language requirements page, which says some courses ask for more. Tests must be completed less than two years before your course starts. TOEFL Home Edition and paper tests are no longer accepted, and LanguageCert only at a test centre. Whether IELTS Online, IELTS Indicator or PTE Academic Online is accepted is not stated, and no PTE score is given for taught courses above IELTS 6.0.
| Test | Undergraduate and taught postgraduate | Research degrees |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic or IELTS for UKVI Academic | 6.0, no component below 5.5 | 6.5, no component less than 6.0 |
| Pearson PTE Academic | 59, minimum 59 in each component | 68, minimum 63 in each component |
| Oxford ELLT | 6.0, no component below 5.0 | 7.0, no component below 6.0 |
| TOEFL iBT (tests from January 2026) | 4, minimum 4 in each section | Not stated by Edinburgh Napier |
Edinburgh Napier IELTS on course pages
Most course pages read on 8 October 2026 give no score and say the university's minimum English requirements apply. They add that the test may not apply if all your school qualifications were in English, and that international students cannot enrol on Midwifery. No course page read states a PTE score.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computing BEng | Undergraduate | Minimum requirement applies (no score on page) |
| Nursing (Adult) BN | Undergraduate | 7.0, no less than 7.0 in each component except writing at 6.5 |
| Healthcare Management MSc | Postgraduate | 6.0, no component less than 5.5 |
| MBA Business Leadership and Practice | Postgraduate | Minimum requirement applies (no score on page) |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Nigerian and other South Asian applicants
Edinburgh Napier's India page says Class XII English waivers are case by case and may vary by state, without naming boards. Its Nigeria page covers WAEC, NECO and English-taught degrees. Its Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh pages say you must sit an English test, and Bangladeshi school leavers generally take a pathway programme first.
| Country | Undergraduate | Postgraduate |
|---|---|---|
| India | 70% or higher in Class XII English, case by case | English-taught degree within 2 years; 2 to 5 years also needs 65% in Class XII English |
| Nigeria | WAEC or NECO English at C6 or better, within the last two years | A degree taught and examined in English may be enough |
| Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh | English language test required | English language test required |
Pre-CAS interviews, deposit, pre-sessional and the Student visa
Edinburgh Napier's CAS page says offer holders from Pakistan must take a short credibility interview before a CAS. Its credibility interview page says others may be asked, on CAS Shield, with one opportunity to pass. Its fees page says the deposit for September 2026 starts at £6,000, while a student portal page still says £5,000, so check your offer email.
Edinburgh Napier's own pre-sessional courses cost £4,200 for 12 weeks (from IELTS for UKVI 5.0 with no skill below 4.5) and £2,100 for 6 weeks (from 5.5 with 5.0), on campus or online. For January 2027 entry they run 14 September or 26 October to 4 December 2026. Entry needs IELTS Academic for UKVI.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Edinburgh Napier programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does Edinburgh Napier University accept PTE?+
Yes: 59 with a minimum of 59 in each component for undergraduate and taught postgraduate courses, and 68 with 63 for research degrees.
Does Edinburgh Napier accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo does not appear on Edinburgh Napier's list of accepted English language tests or on the country pages read.
Does Edinburgh Napier accept IELTS One Skill Retake?+
Yes, if you miss the required score in one component, provided the retake is within 60 days of your full IELTS test.
Can Indian students study at Edinburgh Napier without IELTS?+
Possibly. Undergraduates with 70% or more in Class XII English may be considered case by case, and postgraduates with an English-taught degree from the last two years may be considered without a test.
Does Edinburgh Napier interview Pakistani students?+
Yes. Its CAS page says offer holders from Pakistan must take a short credibility interview before a CAS can be issued.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Edinburgh IELTS requirement
- Heriot-Watt University IELTS requirement
- IELTS for a UK Student visa
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy