Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 31 October 2026
Holmesglen PTE minimums
From Holmesglen's English requirements for international students page.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Certificates and diplomas (excluding nursing) | 50 | Not specified |
| Bachelor's degrees (excluding nursing and early childhood) | 50 | Not specified |
| Bachelor of Early Childhood Education | 55 | 55 in all four skills |
| Diploma of Nursing and Bachelor of Nursing | 63 | L 58, R 59, S 76, W 60 |
Test rules and how PTE compares with IELTS
The page does not state a validity period, a rule on PTE Academic Online, combining sittings or a Pearson institution code. Citizens holding passports from Canada, New Zealand, Ireland, the United Kingdom or the United States do not need a test, except for nursing.
Holmesglen's page does not list PTE Core. Pearson's PTE Core FAQ says PTE Core is initially only suitable for work and migration visa routes to Canada and that PTE Academic is the test accepted for university study.
For comparison, the same tables set IELTS 6.0 overall for certificates, diplomas and bachelor's degrees, 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for early childhood education, and 7.0 (7 in listening, reading and speaking, 6.5 in writing) for nursing.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If your PTE score falls short
Holmesglen accepts PTE 42 if your course is packaged with at least 10 weeks of ELICOS or a foundation program, and PTE 36 with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS. This pathway option does not apply to nursing.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Holmesglen programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Holmesglen Institute need?+
50 overall for certificates, diplomas and bachelor's degrees other than nursing and early childhood education.
What PTE does Holmesglen nursing need?+
63 overall with listening 58, reading 59, speaking 76 and writing 60 for the Diploma and Bachelor of Nursing.
Can I enter Holmesglen with a lower PTE score?+
Yes. PTE 42 with at least 10 weeks of ELICOS, or 36 with at least 20 weeks, except for nursing.
What PTE does Holmesglen early childhood education need?+
55 overall with at least 55 in all four skills.
Keep reading
Related
- Holmesglen Institute IELTS requirement
- Kaplan Business School PTE requirement
- PTE for Australia compared
- Free PTE mock test with AI scoring
- All 3605 guides
Guide updated on 31 October 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy