University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Kent Institute Australia?

Kent Institute Australia sets one English level for its vocational courses and bachelor's degrees: Academic IELTS 6.0 with no band below 5.5, or PTE Academic 50 with at least 42 in each communicative skill. Postgraduate degrees need 6.5 with no band below 6.0, or PTE 58 (50). Test scores count only if they are under two years old when your course starts.
  • Checked against official sources · 13 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Kent's English test scores by level

From Kent's English Language Proficiency Requirements (version 10, 2 December 2025), which Kent's course pages, such as the Bachelor of Accounting, link to. Minimum band, skill or section scores are in brackets.

TestVocational and bachelor'sPostgraduate degrees
IELTS Academic6.0 (5.5)6.5 (6.0)
PTE Academic50 (42 in all communicative skills)58 (50)
TOEFL iBT67–80 (L 16, R 16, W 19, S 19)80
Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency169+176 (169)
Michigan English Test (MET)53 (50)58 (W 57, S 48, R 55, L 56)
LanguageCert Academic61 (55)67 (W 64, S 70, R 60, L 57)

Other evidence Kent accepts

For vocational and bachelor's entry, Kent also accepts an Australian Certificate IV or higher, or an Australian foundation program, completed within the last two years; IB English grades; and C in O-Level or IGCSE English or D in A-Level English. A recognised university degree or one year of post-secondary study taught in English also counts, assessed against the government's Country Education Profiles.

For postgraduate entry the rules are tighter: tertiary study or a degree counts only if it was completed within the last three years in one of Kent's approved English-speaking countries. That list includes Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Singapore and South Africa, but not India, Nepal or Pakistan, so an Indian degree alone will not meet Kent's postgraduate English requirement.

Free test: are you at Kent Institute Australia's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Pathway partners and what is not listed

Kent recognises completion of an English course at an approved English Pathway Partner Provider for vocational and bachelor's entry; ask Kent admissions for the current list. Duolingo, IELTS One Skill Retake and online tests such as IELTS Online are not stated by Kent.

The policy also reminds international applicants that the student visa may require additional English evidence set by the Australian Government, separate from Kent's own requirement. Kent shows its TEQSA Provider Number, PRV12051.

Requirements vary by course, and Kent can change them between intakes. Always confirm the score on your course page before you book a test. Your student visa has its own English rules, set by the Department of Home Affairs.

Student visa (subclass 500) English rules

Your offer and your visa are assessed separately. If Home Affairs asks you for English evidence, the Student visa (subclass 500) page sets these minimums for tests taken on or after 7 August 2025: IELTS Academic 6.0, PTE Academic 47 or TOEFL iBT 67. With at least 10 weeks of ELICOS (or a Foundation or eligible Pathway program) packaged with your course they drop to 5.5, 39 and 51, and with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS to 5.0, 31 and 37.

The test must be taken within the 2 years before you lodge (Regular Evidence level), or within the 2 years before a decision if you are Streamlined Evidence level and asked for evidence. Tests delivered entirely online, such as IELTS Online and TOEFL iBT Home Edition, are not accepted for the visa, and from 21 January 2026 TOEFL candidates must select 'Taking TOEFL for Australia' when registering.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where Kent Institute Australia publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does Kent Institute need?+

PTE Academic 50 with 42 or more in all communicative skills for vocational courses and bachelor's degrees, and 58 with 50 or more for postgraduate degrees.

What IELTS does Kent need for a master's degree?+

Academic IELTS 6.5 with no individual band below 6.0.

Is IELTS 6.0 enough for Kent's Bachelor of Accounting?+

Yes, if no band is below 5.5. The course page lists IELTS (Academic) 6.0 with no band less than 5.5 or equivalent.

Does Kent accept Duolingo?+

Not stated by Kent. Its list covers IELTS, PTE, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge, MET and LanguageCert.

How old can my IELTS be for Kent?+

Less than 2 years old at the start of your course.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 13 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock