LSBU's levels by test
From LSBU's entry requirements page and its English language requirements PDF, which leaves health courses and research degrees out of these levels. English certificates are valid for two years. Duolingo is in the PDF but not the web table, and the PDF gives a postgraduate TOEFL writing minimum of 21, against 17 on the web page. IELTS for UKVI, IELTS Online, One Skill Retake and PTE Academic Online are not stated.
| Test | Undergraduate | Taught postgraduate |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.0, no component below 5.5 | 6.5, no component below 5.5 |
| PTE Academic | 59, minimum 59 in each skill | 60, minimum 59 in each skill |
| Duolingo (English PDF only) | 120, no component below 105 | 120, no component below 105 |
| TOEFL iBT (web page) | 80; reading 18, listening 17, writing 17, speaking 20 | 90; reading 18, listening 17, writing 17, speaking 20 |
| LanguageCert Academic | 65, minimum 60 in each | 70, minimum 60 in each |
| Oxford ELLT Global (Digital not accepted) | 6.0, no component below 5 | 7.0, no component below 5 |
LSBU IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026; none states a PTE score. Adult nursing lists an international fee of £17,880, so it is open to international students. LSBU had no current MBA page when checked. The internship MSc says only a limited number of English tests are accepted for such courses, but its link leads to an unrelated policy document.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | No IELTS figure on page |
| Adult Nursing BSc | Undergraduate | 7.0; 7.0 in listening, reading, writing and speaking |
| Data Science MSc | Postgraduate | 6.5 (no component minimum on page) |
| International Business Management (with Internship) MSc | Postgraduate | 6.5; listening and reading 5.5, speaking and writing 6.0 |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Nigerian and other South Asian applicants
LSBU's India page only says students with high grades in Standard XII English "will be considered". Its English PDF is specific: 65% for ICSE, CBSE and Maharashtra and 70% for other boards, accepted up to 10 years, and "We do not waive English language under any circumstances for those who have studied under the Punjab School Education Board."
The Nigeria page accepts WAEC or NECO English at C6 for undergraduate and postgraduate study. School-English waivers for Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh, and medium of instruction letters, are not stated by LSBU.
| Qualification | LSBU requirement |
|---|---|
| Standard XII English: ICSE, CBSE, Maharashtra | 65%, accepted up to 10 years |
| Standard XII English: other state boards | 70% |
| Punjab School Education Board | No English waiver under any circumstances |
| WAEC or NECO English (Nigeria) | C6 or above; no validity limit in the PDF |
| Pakistan HSSC, Nepal NEB, Bangladesh HSC English | Not stated by LSBU |
Deposit, pre-recorded interviews, pre-sessional and the Student visa
LSBU's CAS page asks you to "Pay a non-refundable deposit which is 50% of your tuition fees", with some exceptions, and says overseas applicants are interviewed in a pre-recorded format on the CAS Shield platform, possibly with a second interview. Its fees page says the amount is confirmed in your offer letter, and January to March 2027 starters pay in full or 75% by 14 December 2026. Its how to apply page lists every 2027 regional deadline as TBC. Recruitment pauses are not stated.
LSBU's pre-sessional English link leads to its partner, Oxford International Digital Institute, and course lengths, prices and entry scores are not stated on LSBU's own site.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your LSBU programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does London South Bank University accept PTE?+
Yes: 59 with at least 59 in each skill for undergraduate courses and 60 with 59 for postgraduate. Whether PTE Academic Online counts is not stated.
Does LSBU accept Duolingo?+
Its English language requirements PDF lists Duolingo at 120 with no component below 105 for undergraduate and postgraduate courses, though the web table does not include it.
Can Indian students study at LSBU without IELTS?+
Its PDF accepts 65% in Standard XII English from ICSE, CBSE or Maharashtra boards, or 70% from other boards, but never waives English for the Punjab School Education Board.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at LSBU?+
Usually 6.5 with no component below 5.5, subject to course. The Data Science MSc page states 6.5, and the internship MSc 6.5 with 6.0 in speaking and writing.
How much deposit does LSBU ask before the CAS?+
A non-refundable 50% of your tuition fees, with some exceptions, and overseas applicants also complete a pre-recorded interview through CAS Shield.
Keep reading
Related
- Kingston University IELTS requirement
- University of Greenwich IELTS requirement
- PTE vs IELTS for a UK visa
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy