Maynooth's English requirements for the 2026/2027 intake
Maynooth's English language requirements page gives one column for non-EU undergraduates and one for EU and non-EU postgraduates. The scores are the same in both columns.
| Test | Undergraduate (non-EU) | Postgraduate (EU and non-EU) |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic (single retake module not accepted) | 6.5, no less than 6.0 in each band | 6.5, no less than 6.0 in each band |
| PTE Academic | 63, no less than 59 in each communicative skill | 63, no less than 59 in each communicative skill |
| Duolingo English Test | 120, at least 110 in each subscore | 120, at least 110 in each subscore |
| TOEFL iBT (0–120 scale; Home Edition not accepted) | 90, 21 in writing, 19 in other sections | 90, 21 in writing, 19 in other sections |
| TOEFL iBT (new 1–6 scale) | 5, no less than 4.5 in each section | 5, no less than 4.5 in each section |
| Cambridge C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency | 176+, no less than 169 in each skill | 176+, no less than 169 in each skill |
Retakes, test age and who is exempt
Maynooth states that an IELTS single retake module is not accepted, so you need all four bands from one full test. The certificate must have been issued within two years of your programme's expected start date. TOEFL Home Edition is not accepted. IELTS Online is not mentioned: not stated by Maynooth University.
Students who completed a full bachelor's degree taught in English in Ireland, the UK, the USA, Australia, New Zealand, Nigeria or Canada may be exempt. Maynooth warns you may still need a recognised English certificate for your Irish visa.
Maynooth says its requirements are revised annually. Programme-specific higher scores and pre-sessional English options are not stated on this page; check your course page.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →IELTS for the Irish study visa is a separate check
This guide covers Maynooth's admission requirement. The study visa is a separate check: the Irish Immigration Service sets a visa minimum of IELTS Academic 5.0 (PTE Academic 30) for courses other than second-level, foundation or English language courses, and says your college's own minimum may be different. Meeting the visa minimum does not get you an offer; Maynooth's score is the one to aim for. Country-level detail is in our IELTS for Ireland guide.
Requirements are set per intake and can change. Check the Maynooth University English language page and your course page before you book a test. Read on 4 October 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Does Maynooth University accept IELTS One Skill Retake?+
No. Maynooth's requirements table says the IELTS single retake module is not accepted.
What PTE score does Maynooth need?+
63 with no less than 59 in each communicative skill, for both non-EU undergraduates and postgraduates.
Does Maynooth accept Duolingo?+
Yes, a score of 120 with at least 110 in each subscore.
Is the IELTS requirement higher for a master's at Maynooth?+
The published postgraduate minimum is the same as for non-EU undergraduates: 6.5 with no band below 6.0. Check your course page for any programme-specific requirement.
How old can my English test be for Maynooth?+
The certificate must have been issued within two years of the expected start date of your programme.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for Ireland: visa minimum and university scores
- PTE for Ireland
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- DCU IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy