MIT English requirements at a glance
Sources: MIT Admissions' tests and scores page and MIT Graduate Admissions' English Language Proficiency test requirement.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate minimum | 7.0 | 5 (old scale 90) | 120 | 65 |
| Undergraduate recommended | 7.5 | 5.5 (old scale 100) | 125 | 70 |
| Graduate (recommended; departments set their own) | 7.0 | 100 (new-scale figure not stated) | 135 (limited departments) | Not accepted |
Undergraduate: recommended, not required
For non-native English speakers, MIT says it "strongly recommend[s]" an English proficiency exam if you have used English for fewer than five years or do not speak it at home or in school. It accepts Cambridge English (C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency, 185 minimum, 190 recommended), Duolingo, IELTS, PTE Academic and TOEFL. Self-reported scores are fine at application and are verified on enrollment. Validity and home editions are not stated by MIT on this page. See the tests and scores page.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Graduate: department minimums come first
MIT requires international applicants whose primary language is not English to submit English proficiency scores. Some qualify for an automatic exemption, for example with an undergraduate degree from an English-speaking institution in Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa, the UK or the US, and departments can grant waivers. GradAdmissions recommends IELTS Academic 7, TOEFL iBT 100, Duolingo 135 or Cambridge 190, but department minimums supersede these, and Duolingo and Cambridge are accepted only by a limited number of departments.
PTE does not appear among MIT GradAdmissions' accepted tests. MIT does not accept TOEFL MyBest, TOEFL Essentials, TOEFL ITP or IELTS One Skill Retake. Scores that will be invalid by the application deadline are not accepted. The MIT Sloan School may use different codes. Check your department page from the ELP requirement page.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement MIT sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the MIT Admissions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
Does MIT accept IELTS?+
Yes. Undergraduate minimum 7 (7.5 recommended); MIT Graduate Admissions recommends at least 7, with each department setting its own minimum.
Does MIT accept PTE?+
For undergraduate admission, yes: 65 minimum and 70 recommended. MIT Graduate Admissions does not list PTE among its accepted tests.
Is an English test required for MIT undergrad?+
No. MIT strongly recommends one for non-native speakers who have used English for fewer than five years or do not speak it at home or school.
What is MIT's minimum on the new TOEFL scale?+
For undergraduates, 5 minimum and 5.5 recommended for tests on or after 21 January 2026 (90 and 100 before). The graduate pages give only the old-scale 100.
Does MIT grad school accept IELTS One Skill Retake?+
No. MIT GradAdmissions does not accept One Skill Retake scores.
Keep reading
Related
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy