Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026
Northwest PTE minimums by level
From Northwest's language requirements page for international students and the MBA admissions page. The language page lists two graduate scores for some tests, the first for the MS in Applied Computer Science (MS-ACS) and the second for all other graduate programmes. PTE has a single graduate score.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 44 | Not stated |
| Graduate: MS in Applied Computer Science | 53 | Not stated |
| Graduate: all other programmes, including the MBA | 53 | Not stated |
PTE rules and how it compares with IELTS
Neither page mentions PTE Academic Online or PTE Core, prints a validity period for PTE, or explains how PTE scores should be sent, so confirm all three with international admissions before you book.
On the same language page, IELTS is 5.5 for undergraduates and 6.0 (MS-ACS) or 6.5 (other graduate programmes), and Duolingo is 95 or 105/110. The MBA page lists PTE 53 next to IELTS 6.5 and says the English requirement may be waived for applicants with a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited US institution.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If you do not have a PTE score
The language page lists other ways to meet the requirement: an ACT composite of 21, an SAT composite of 1060, a US high school diploma, an undergraduate or graduate degree from an accredited institution in the US or a country where English is the native language, transfer credit equal to Northwest's two composition courses at grade C or better, a first-language English grade of B or higher in IGCSE, GCSE or O Levels, or 5 or higher in IB English Language and Literature HL.
Citizens of the listed exempt countries do not need a test. Ghana, Gambia and Sierra Leone are on the list only with a C or higher in English on the WASSCE, and Cameroon with a C or higher on the GCE O Level. The page does not describe a pathway or conditional route for scores below 44 or 53.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Northwest programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Northwest Missouri State need?+
PTE 44 for undergraduate admission and PTE 53 for graduate admission.
Is the PTE score higher for the MS in Applied Computer Science?+
No. Other tests list a separate MS-ACS score, but PTE is 53 for the MS-ACS and for all other graduate programmes.
What PTE does the Northwest MBA need?+
The MBA admissions page lists a PTE score of 53, alongside IELTS 6.5.
Does Northwest accept PTE Academic Online?+
The page does not say. Ask international admissions before booking an online sitting.
Keep reading
Related
- Northwest Missouri State University IELTS requirement
- Southeast Missouri State University PTE requirement
- PTE for the USA: scores by university
- How long PTE scores stay valid
- All 4937 guides
Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy