University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Saint Joseph's University?

Saint Joseph's University (SJU) in Philadelphia asks international graduate applicants for IELTS 6.5 overall. TOEFL iBT 80 (4 on the 2026 scale), PTE 60 and Duolingo 110 are also accepted. Some health and pharmaceutical science programmes ask for TOEFL 90 or Duolingo 120. ELS Level 112 with a recommendation letter can replace a test score.Source: Saint Joseph's University official English requirements · checked 29 October 2026
  • Guide updated · 29 October 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 29 October 2026

SJU graduate English minimums

From SJU's graduate admission dates and details page. It does not set a minimum for each IELTS band.

Level or programmeIELTS AcademicOther tests
Graduate, most programmes6.5 overallTOEFL iBT 80 (4 on the 2026 scale), PTE 60, Duolingo 110
Master of Health Administration, Health Informatics MS, Health Education MSNot stated separatelyTOEFL 90 (4.5 on the updated scale)
Biology, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, Pharmaceutics, Pharmacology/ToxicologyNot stated separatelyTOEFL 90 (4.5) or Duolingo 120

ELS instead of a test

SJU accepts completion of ELS Language Center English Level 112, with a favourable recommendation letter from an ELS administrator, in place of a TOEFL, IELTS or PTE score.

Official TOEFL, IELTS or PTE scores must have been taken within the last two years.

Free test: are you at Saint Joseph's University's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Undergraduates and programme checks

The minimums above are for graduate admission. Health science programmes such as occupational therapy, physician assistant studies, pharmacy and physical therapy have their own pages, so check the one you are applying to.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admission cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your SJU programme page and in your admission letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where Saint Joseph's University publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS does Saint Joseph's University need for a master's?+

IELTS 6.5 overall for most graduate programmes.

Does SJU accept Duolingo?+

Yes. 110 for most graduate programmes, and 120 for some science and pharmacy programmes.

Does SJU accept PTE?+

Yes, with a minimum of 60.

How old can my IELTS be for SJU?+

It must have been taken within the last two years.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 29 October 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free mock