SCU comparable scores to Academic IELTS
The standard levels come from Rule 2 of SCU's Rules Relating to Awards; the equivalents from the comparison table on SCU's English language requirements page. Minimum skill scores are in brackets.
| IELTS Academic | PTE Academic | TOEFL iBT | Cambridge CAE |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5.5, no band below 5.0 | 42 (36) | 46 (W, S 17; R, L 5) | 162–168 |
| 6.0, no band below 5.5 | 50 (42) | 60 (W, S 17; R, L 11) | 169–175 |
| 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 58 (50) | 79 (W 21) | 176–184 |
| 7.0, no band below 6.5 | 65 (58) | 94 (W 24) | 185–190 |
| 7.0, no band below 7.0 | 65 (65) | 94 (W 25) | 185–190 |
Courses with different English requirements
SCU's variations table (marked updated 4 September 2024) lists 7.0 with no band below 7.0 for the Bachelor of Clinical Sciences (Osteopathic Studies), Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Midwifery and Social Work, and 8.0 in every band for Speech Pathology, which cannot be packaged with English.
The Bachelor of Nursing course page sets IELTS 7.0 with 7.0 in listening, reading and speaking and 6.5 in writing, PTE 66 (56 in writing), TOEFL iBT 94 (27 in writing) or Cambridge 185, within two years of starting. The MBA, Master of Computing, Master of Professional Accounting and accounting graduate certificate and diploma list 6.5 overall, and the Global Hotel Leadership graduate certificate and diploma 6.0 with no band below 5.5.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Validity, pathways and other tests
Under Rule 2, an English test score must have been achieved within two years of your intended course start date. SCU's pathways set lower entry scores: 5.5 (no band below 5.0) for the Undergraduate Qualifying Program and diplomas, and 6.0 (no band below 5.5) for the Postgraduate Qualifying Program.
Besides IELTS, SCU's table covers Cambridge CAE and CPE, TOEFL iBT, PTE and ISLPR. Duolingo, IELTS One Skill Retake and online tests such as IELTS Online are not stated by Southern Cross University.
Requirements vary by course, and SCU can change them between intakes. Always confirm the score on your course page before you book a test. Your student visa has its own English rules, set by the Department of Home Affairs.
Student visa (subclass 500) English rules
Your offer and your visa are assessed separately. If Home Affairs asks you for English evidence, the Student visa (subclass 500) page sets these minimums for tests taken on or after 7 August 2025: IELTS Academic 6.0, PTE Academic 47 or TOEFL iBT 67. With at least 10 weeks of ELICOS (or a Foundation or eligible Pathway program) packaged with your course they drop to 5.5, 39 and 51, and with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS to 5.0, 31 and 37.
The test must be taken within the 2 years before you lodge (Regular Evidence level), or within the 2 years before a decision if you are Streamlined Evidence level and asked for evidence. Tests delivered entirely online, such as IELTS Online and TOEFL iBT Home Edition, are not accepted for the visa, and from 21 January 2026 TOEFL candidates must select 'Taking TOEFL for Australia' when registering.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Southern Cross University need?+
PTE Academic 50 with no skill below 42 for bachelor's degrees (IELTS 6.0 level), and 58 with no skill below 50 for postgraduate coursework (IELTS 6.5 level).
What IELTS do I need for a master's at SCU?+
IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for postgraduate coursework. The MBA and Master of Computing list 6.5 overall.
What IELTS does SCU need for nursing?+
The Bachelor of Nursing page sets 7.0 with 7.0 in listening, reading and speaking and 6.5 in writing, or PTE 66 with 56 in writing.
Does Southern Cross University accept Duolingo?+
Not stated by Southern Cross University. Duolingo is not in its comparison table.
How long is IELTS valid for SCU?+
The score must have been achieved within two years of your intended course start date.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for Australia: scores by university and visa
- IELTS for the Student visa 500
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- Griffith University IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy