IELTS scores on Torrens course pages
Read today on the international admission criteria of five Torrens course pages. Each says "Academic IELTS … or equivalent" and that alternative entry may be available through the International Admissions team.
| Course | International English requirement |
|---|---|
| Bachelor of Business | Academic IELTS 6.0 (no band less than 5.5) or equivalent |
| Master of Business Administration | Academic IELTS 6.5 (no band less than 6.0) or equivalent |
| Master of Information Technology | Academic IELTS 6.5 (no band less than 6.0) or equivalent |
| Master of Public Health | Academic IELTS 6.5 (no band less than 6.0) or equivalent |
| Bachelor of Nursing | Academic IELTS 7.0 in all four components, or OET, TOEFL iBT 91 or PTE Academic 63 |
PTE, Duolingo and other tests
Apart from nursing, the Torrens pages read today give the IELTS score and "or equivalent" without listing PTE, TOEFL or Duolingo scores. PTE equivalents for non-nursing courses, Duolingo, IELTS One Skill Retake and IELTS Online are not stated by Torrens on these pages.
Torrens' admissions criteria says other evidence, including alternative English tests, is considered case by case by the Pro Vice-Chancellor, Academic, and that some courses may require a higher overall score or sub-scores.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Validity and pathways
You must achieve the course's minimum score in an approved English test within 24 months of starting at Torrens. Completed secondary education, a year of tertiary study or an AQF Level 4 or higher award in English from specified countries can also meet the requirement.
Torrens says it offers English language and pathway programs for students who need help meeting course entry requirements.
Requirements vary by course, and Torrens University can change them between intakes. Always confirm the score on your course page before you book a test. Your student visa has its own English rules, set by the Department of Home Affairs.
Student visa (subclass 500) English rules
Your offer and your visa are assessed separately. If Home Affairs asks you for English evidence, the Student visa (subclass 500) page sets these minimums for tests taken on or after 7 August 2025: IELTS Academic 6.0, PTE Academic 47 or TOEFL iBT 67. With at least 10 weeks of ELICOS (or a Foundation or eligible Pathway program) packaged with your course they drop to 5.5, 39 and 51, and with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS to 5.0, 31 and 37.
The test must be taken within the 2 years before you lodge (Regular Evidence level), or within the 2 years before a decision if you are Streamlined Evidence level and asked for evidence. Tests delivered entirely online, such as IELTS Online and TOEFL iBT Home Edition, are not accepted for the visa, and from 21 January 2026 TOEFL candidates must select 'Taking TOEFL for Australia' when registering.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Torrens University?+
The MBA, Master of Information Technology and Master of Public Health each ask for Academic IELTS 6.5 with no band less than 6.0, or equivalent.
What PTE score does Torrens University need?+
The Bachelor of Nursing lists PTE Academic 63. For the other courses read today, Torrens gives only an IELTS score "or equivalent" and does not state a PTE score.
How long is IELTS valid for Torrens?+
The test must be within 24 months of the start of your studies at Torrens.
Does Torrens University accept Duolingo?+
Not stated by Torrens University. It says alternative English tests are considered case by case.
What IELTS does Torrens need for nursing?+
Academic IELTS 7.0 in each of listening, reading, writing and speaking, or OET, TOEFL iBT 91 or PTE Academic 63.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for Australia: scores by university and visa
- IELTS for the Student visa 500
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- CQUniversity IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy