University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for the University of Arkansas?

The University of Arkansas asks for a Pearson Test of English Academic score of 58 for admission, from a test taken within two years before your start semester. After admission, your PTE writing score decides whether you take English Language and Culture (ELAC) writing courses. Graduate teaching assistants with direct student contact need PTE speaking and writing scores of 71.
  • Guide updated · 1 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026

Arkansas PTE scores for admission and placement

All figures are from the University of Arkansas English language proficiency page.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
Admission (undergraduate and graduate)58None stated
Undergraduate, no extra writing course (Level I)Not statedWriting 77 to 84
Graduate, no ELAC course (Level I)Not statedWriting 71 or higher
Graduate teaching assistantNot statedSpeaking 71 and writing 71

Validity and the IELTS comparison

The proficiency page says English tests must have been taken within the two years immediately before the requested semester of admission. It does not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core, and it gives institution codes for TOEFL and IELTS but not for PTE. It also says a degree from a country where English is an official language of instruction, such as India, Pakistan, the Philippines or Nigeria, does not by itself exempt you.

For comparison, the same page asks IELTS Academic 6.5 against PTE 58, and IELTS speaking 7.0 and writing 6.0 for teaching assistants against PTE 71 in both.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

If your PTE writing score is lower

For undergraduates the page lists PTE writing 71 to 74 as Level II (one ELAC writing course) and 0 to 68 as Level III (a different ELAC course); it does not place scores of 69 to 70 or 75 to 76. For graduate students, writing 60 to 70 is Level II and 59 or less is Level III, which means two ELAC courses in sequence but still admissible.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Arkansas programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does the University of Arkansas need?+

PTE Academic 58 for admission.

How old can my PTE be for Arkansas?+

Taken within the two years immediately before your requested semester of admission.

Does an Indian or Nigerian degree exempt me from PTE at Arkansas?+

No. The page says English as an official language of instruction in those countries does not exempt you.

What PTE scores do Arkansas teaching assistants need?+

Speaking 71 and writing 71 for assistantships with direct student contact.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy