University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Kent?

The University of Kent sets three English levels. Good is IELTS 6.0 with 5.5 in each component, PTE Academic 63 or Duolingo 110; Very Good is 6.5 with 5.5, PTE 67 or Duolingo 120; Excellent is 7.0 with 7.0 in each. Computer Science MSc needs Good and the MBA Very Good. Kent paused new applications from Pakistan-domiciled applicants for September 2026 entry.
  • Checked against official sources · 4 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Kent's three English levels by test

From Kent's English language requirements page, last updated 17 September 2026. Every test must be achieved no more than two years before the start of your course. Kent accepts IELTS One Skill Retake, but only one retake per academic year; IELTS Online is not stated by Kent.

TestGood (CEFR B2)Very Good (high B2)Excellent (C1)
IELTS Academic or IELTS for UKVI6.0, min 5.5 in each component6.5, min 5.5 in each component7.0, min 7.0 in each component
PTE Academic or Pearson Academic UKVI63, min 59 in each sub-test67, min 59 in each sub-test76, min 76 in each sub-test
Duolingo English Test110 (S, W, R 110; L 105)120 (S, R 120; W 130; L 115)130 (S, R 130; W 145; L 125)
TOEFL iBT incl. Home Edition (after 21 January 2026)4, min 4 in each component4.5, min 4.5 in each component5, min 5 in each component
Oxford ELLT Digital or Global6, no lower than 57, no lower than 58, no lower than 8

Kent levels on course pages

Each course page names the level it needs. These were read on 4 October 2026.

CourseLevelKent English level
Computer Science BScUndergraduateGood: IELTS 6.0 (5.5)
Business Management BScUndergraduateGood: IELTS 6.0 (5.5)
Computer Science MScPostgraduateGood: IELTS 6.0 (5.5), PTE 63 (59)
Business Analytics MScPostgraduateGood: IELTS 6.0 (5.5), PTE 63 (59)
MBAPostgraduateVery Good: IELTS 6.5 (5.5), PTE 67 (59)

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

India, Nigeria and the Pakistan pause

Kent's qualifications-by-country table gives one minimum grade per qualification, achieved no more than eight years before the course starts. It does not say which of the three levels these grades meet, so ask admissions. A school qualification route for Nepal is not stated by Kent.

Kent's Pakistan page says it paused new undergraduate and postgraduate applications from applicants domiciled in Pakistan for September 2026 entry, citing the exceptionally high volume of applications. It also set an earlier deadline of Monday 28 September 2026, 23:59 BST, for postgraduate taught applications from Pakistan for January 2027.

QualificationMinimum grade in English
CBSE (All India or Delhi Senior School Certificate), CISCE, Maharashtra State Board70%
Standard XII from Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Meghalaya, Tamil Nadu, Telangana or West Bengal boards75%
NECO or WAEC/WASSCE (Nigeria)C6

Degree MOI letters, pre-sessional and the Student visa

If your degree is not from the UK or a majority English-speaking country, Kent asks for an Ecctis English language and academic qualification statement alongside the degree certificate and medium of instruction letter. It refunds the Ecctis cost if you register and the statement meets its requirement, for September 2026 and January 2027 starts.

Kent's pre-sessional courses run for 6, 10 and 16 weeks on campus and online. For a Good-level degree, the 16-week course starts from IELTS 4.5 overall, the 10-week from 5.0 with 4.5 in all skills, and the 6-week from 5.5 with 5.0 in all skills. A combined CAS is available with IELTS 5.5 in all skills.

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Kent programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does the University of Kent accept PTE?+

Yes, PTE Academic and Pearson Academic UKVI: 63 with 59 in each sub-test for Good-level courses, 67 with 59 for Very Good, and 76 with 76 for Excellent.

Does Kent accept Duolingo?+

Yes: 110 overall for Good-level courses, 120 for Very Good and 130 for Excellent, each with Kent's sub-score minimums.

Is Kent accepting students from Pakistan?+

Kent's Pakistan page says it paused new undergraduate and postgraduate applications from Pakistan-domiciled applicants for September 2026 entry, and set a 28 September 2026 deadline for January 2027 postgraduate taught applications.

Can Indian students study at Kent without IELTS?+

Kent accepts 70% in English from CBSE, CISCE or the Maharashtra board, or 75% from eight listed state boards, achieved within eight years. It does not say which level these grades meet, so confirm with admissions.

Does Kent accept IELTS One Skill Retake?+

Yes, with only one One Skill Retake permitted per academic year.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock