UTAS minimum English test scores
From the University of Tasmania's English language requirements page. TOEFL iBT tests completed between 26 July 2023 and 4 May 2024 are not accepted.
| Course level | IELTS Academic | PTE Academic | TOEFL iBT | Cambridge C1 Advanced or B2 First |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foundation programs | 5.5 (no band below 5.0) | 43 (no score below 36) | 46 (no skill below 10) | 162 (154) |
| Undergraduate courses | 6.0 (no band below 5.5) | 50 (no score below 42) | 72 (R 10, L 9, S 16, W 19) | 169 (162) |
| Postgraduate coursework | 6.0 (no band below 6.0) | 50 (no score below 50) | 72 (R 16, L 16, S 18, W 22) | 169 (169) |
Courses with higher English requirements
Postgraduate courses in Information Technology and Systems, Business Administration (Global), Public Health, Planning, Legal Practice, Laboratory Medicine and others need IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.0, PTE 58 (no score below 50) or TOEFL iBT 88. Undergraduate Laws, Biomedicine, Pharmacy with Honours and Psychological Science sit at the same level.
Nursing needs IELTS 7.0 with 7.0 in reading, listening and speaking and 6.5 in writing, or PTE 63 (reading 59, listening 58, speaking 76, writing 60). Social Work, Medicine, Exercise and Sport Science and Clinical Pharmacy need 7.0 in every band (PTE 65 in each). Education and Teaching need 7.5 with 8.0 in listening and speaking and 7.0 in reading and writing.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →One Skill Retake, validity and pathways
UTAS accepts IELTS One Skill Retake, except for the Bachelor of Education (Primary), Bachelor of Education (Health and Physical Education), Master of Teaching and Master of Social Work (Qualifying). Combined scores such as TOEFL MyBest are considered case by case. Cambridge computer-based scores count only for tests before 12 February 2024.
All ways of meeting the requirement are valid for two years, except listed country-specific qualifications. Duolingo, IELTS Online and PTE Academic Online are not stated by the University of Tasmania. Its English Language Centre's English for Academic Purposes (EAP 2) and Foundation Studies are recognised routes in.
Requirements vary by course, and the University of Tasmania can change them between intakes. Always confirm the score on your course page before you book a test. Your student visa has its own English rules, set by the Department of Home Affairs.
Student visa (subclass 500) English rules
Your offer and your visa are assessed separately. If Home Affairs asks you for English evidence, the Student visa (subclass 500) page sets these minimums for tests taken on or after 7 August 2025: IELTS Academic 6.0, PTE Academic 47 or TOEFL iBT 67. With at least 10 weeks of ELICOS (or a Foundation or eligible Pathway program) packaged with your course they drop to 5.5, 39 and 51, and with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS to 5.0, 31 and 37.
The test must be taken within the 2 years before you lodge (Regular Evidence level), or within the 2 years before a decision if you are Streamlined Evidence level and asked for evidence. Tests delivered entirely online, such as IELTS Online and TOEFL iBT Home Edition, are not accepted for the visa, and from 21 January 2026 TOEFL candidates must select 'Taking TOEFL for Australia' when registering.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does the University of Tasmania need?+
PTE Academic 50 with no score below 42 for undergraduate courses, and 50 with no score below 50 for postgraduate coursework.
What IELTS do I need for a master's in IT at UTAS?+
Information Technology and Systems is on the 6.5 list: IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.0, PTE 58 or TOEFL iBT 88.
Is IELTS One Skill Retake accepted at UTAS?+
Yes, except for the Bachelor of Education (Primary), Bachelor of Education (Health and Physical Education), Master of Teaching and Master of Social Work (Qualifying).
How long is IELTS valid for the University of Tasmania?+
Two years, which applies to all methods of meeting the requirement except listed country-specific qualifications.
Does the University of Tasmania accept Duolingo?+
Not stated by the University of Tasmania. Duolingo is not among the approved tests on its page.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for Australia: scores by university and visa
- IELTS for the Student visa 500
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- Charles Sturt University IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy