University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Asia Pacific International College (APIC)?

Asia Pacific International College (APIC) asks bachelor's applicants for Academic IELTS 6.0 with at least 5.5 in writing and speaking, or PTE Academic 50 with 42 in writing and speaking. Master's degrees and graduate diplomas need 6.5 with 6.0 in writing and speaking, or PTE 58 (50). Graduate certificates ask 6.0 with no band below 5.5, and diplomas 5.5.
  • Checked against official sources · 13 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

APIC English scores by course level

From section 6 of APIC's Admissions Policy (version 2.8, approved June 2025). APIC sets writing and speaking minimums rather than a floor for every band, except at graduate certificate level.

LevelIELTS AcademicPTE AcademicTOEFL iBTCambridge CAE
Diploma (AQF 5)5.5 (W, S 5.0)50 (W, S 42)65 (W 21, S 18)169 (W, S 162)
Bachelor's degree (AQF 7)6.0 (W, S 5.5)50 (W, S 42)65 (W 21, S 18)169 (W, S 162)
Graduate Certificate (AQF 8)6.0, no band below 5.550 (W, S 42)65 (W 21, S 18)169 (W, S 162)
Graduate Diploma (AQF 8) and Master's (AQF 9)6.5 (W, S 6.0)58 (W, S 50)79 (W 21, S 18)176 (W, S 169)

Validity and other routes

APIC says English evidence must be less than 2 years old. Cambridge C2 Proficiency is accepted at 169 (162 in writing and speaking) for diplomas, bachelor's degrees and graduate certificates, and 180 in writing and speaking for master's and graduate diplomas. Graduate certificate applicants can also use English for Academic Purposes Level 2 (Upper Intermediate) with an A grade or higher.

If you do not meet the requirement, APIC can make a conditional offer that includes an approved intensive English course, which you must pass before your award course starts. Applicants who miss the formal entry requirements can be considered case by case by the Dean (Academic).

Free test: are you at APIC's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

What APIC does not say

Duolingo, IELTS One Skill Retake and online tests such as IELTS Online are not stated by APIC, and its policy does not list exemption countries or say whether an Indian or Nepali degree taught in English counts. APIC's diploma level of IELTS 5.5 is below the visa minimum of 6.0 that applies without packaged ELICOS, so check the visa rules below too.

Requirements vary by course, and APIC can change them between intakes. Always confirm the score on your course page before you book a test. Your student visa has its own English rules, set by the Department of Home Affairs.

Student visa (subclass 500) English rules

Your offer and your visa are assessed separately. If Home Affairs asks you for English evidence, the Student visa (subclass 500) page sets these minimums for tests taken on or after 7 August 2025: IELTS Academic 6.0, PTE Academic 47 or TOEFL iBT 67. With at least 10 weeks of ELICOS (or a Foundation or eligible Pathway program) packaged with your course they drop to 5.5, 39 and 51, and with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS to 5.0, 31 and 37.

The test must be taken within the 2 years before you lodge (Regular Evidence level), or within the 2 years before a decision if you are Streamlined Evidence level and asked for evidence. Tests delivered entirely online, such as IELTS Online and TOEFL iBT Home Edition, are not accepted for the visa, and from 21 January 2026 TOEFL candidates must select 'Taking TOEFL for Australia' when registering.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where Asia Pacific International College (APIC) publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does APIC need for a master's?+

PTE Academic 58 with a minimum of 50 in writing and speaking, for master's degrees and graduate diplomas.

What IELTS does APIC need for a bachelor's degree?+

Academic IELTS 6.0 overall with at least 5.5 in writing and speaking.

Is IELTS 6.0 enough for an APIC graduate certificate?+

Yes, if no band is below 5.5. The graduate diploma and master's need 6.5.

Does APIC accept Duolingo?+

Not stated by APIC. Its policy lists IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge CPE and CAE, and PTE Academic.

How old can my English test be for APIC?+

Less than 2 years old, according to APIC's document requirements.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 13 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock