University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Bangor University?

Bangor University in Wales asks for IELTS 6.0 with no component below 5.5 for most undergraduate and taught master's courses, including computer science, business and the MBA. Law and English literature need 6.5 with 6.0, and undergraduate nursing 7.0 in every component. PTE Academic is 56 with 51 in each component at a test centre, and Duolingo 105. Indian applicants can use 65% in Standard XII English.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Bangor's levels by test

From Bangor's English language requirements page, which sets IELTS by school and accepts IELTS for UKVI or non-SELT IELTS, plus some online tests. PTE and TOEFL count only when taken at test centres; TOEFL iBT 4.0 (3.5) and LanguageCert Academic, including online, 65 (60) match the 6.0 level. Its own BUELT test "is no longer available", and Password Skills Plus replaces it. Result validity, IELTS Online and One Skill Retake are not stated.

TestIELTS 6.0 (5.5) coursesIELTS 6.5 (6.0) coursesIELTS 7.0 (6.5) courses
PTE Academic (test centres only)56, no component below 5162, no component below 5872, no component below 67
Duolingo English Test105; speaking, writing, listening 95, reading 100120; speaking, writing, reading 110, listening 105130; speaking, reading, listening 120, writing 130
Oxford ELLT Global or Digital6, minimum 57, minimum 68, minimum 7
Kaplan Test of English444, minimum 410478, minimum 444510, minimum 478
Password Skills Plus6.0, minimum 5.56.5, minimum 6.07.0, minimum 6.5

Bangor IELTS on course pages

These course pages were read on 8 October 2026. Only the MBA states a PTE score, 56 with no element below 51, and it lists Cambridge Advanced at 169 where the English page says 168. Adult nursing has a limited number of international places, subject to HEIW funding, and needs an interview. The English page asks master's nursing applicants for 7.0 with 6.5.

CourseLevelIELTS
Computer Science BScUndergraduateNo figure on page (English page: 6.0, 5.5)
Adult Nursing BNUndergraduateNo figure on page (English page: BN Nursing 7.0, 7.0)
Management MBAPostgraduate6.0, no element below 5.5
Advanced Data Science MScPostgraduate6.0, no individual component below 5.5

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Indian, Pakistani, Nepali, Nigerian and Bangladeshi applicants

Bangor's India page accepts "65% in English subject for all Central and State Boards (except Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh)", where IELTS or an equivalent is mandatory; no time limit is stated. Its Nepal page accepts Compulsory English, and its Nigeria page may waive IELTS for a C in high-school English or a letter confirming an English-taught degree. The Pakistan page mentions HSC English at elective or advanced level without a grade.

The Bangladesh page asks for IELTS 6.0 (5.5) and will not accept applications with qualifications from eight named institutions, including Stamford University Bangladesh and Royal University Dhaka. All five pages say some countries need no extra English evidence after English-medium education, without naming which.

QualificationBangor requirement
Standard XII English, central and state boards (India)65%; Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh need IELTS
Nepal HSEC or SLC Grade 12 Compulsory EnglishGrade B, CGPA 2.6 or 65% (CGPA 2.8 or 70% for 6.5 courses)
Nigerian high-school EnglishMinimum C or equivalent (higher for some courses)
Pakistan HSC EnglishElective or advanced level; grade not stated
Bangladesh HSC EnglishNot stated by Bangor; IELTS 6.0 (5.5)

Deposit, pre-CAS checks, pre-sessional and the Student visa

Bangor's already applied page says the deposit amount "will be clearly mentioned in your offer letter" and that it "reserves the right to carry out pre-CAS checking/assessment", which may delay your CAS. Its payment page asks PhD applicants also taking a pre-sessional for at least £2,000. Its January start page sets January 2027 applications by 4 December 2026, deposits by 15 December and CAS by 23 December. Recruitment pauses are not stated.

Bangor's pre-sessional English for a 6.0 degree runs from 26 April 2027 (£4,950, from IELTS 4.5 with 4.0) down to 9 August 2027 (£1,200, from 6.0 with one element at 5.0), with autumn courses from 28 September and 2 November 2026 for January starters. Entry rises by 0.5 for 6.5 courses. Whether on-campus courses need a SELT is not stated.

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Bangor programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does Bangor University accept PTE?+

Yes, taken at a test centre: 56 with at least 51 in each component for IELTS 6.0 courses, 62 (58) for 6.5 courses and 72 (67) for 7.0 courses.

Does Bangor accept Duolingo?+

Yes: 105 for IELTS 6.0 courses, with 95 in speaking, writing and listening and 100 in reading, and 120 for 6.5 courses.

Can Indian students study at Bangor without IELTS?+

Yes, with 65% in English from central and state boards, except Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh, where IELTS or an equivalent is mandatory.

What IELTS do I need for a master's at Bangor?+

Usually 6.0 with 5.5, as on the Management MBA and Advanced Data Science MSc pages. Law, English literature and several science master's need 6.5 with 6.0, and nursing 7.0 with 6.5.

Can I still take Bangor's BUELT test?+

No. Bangor says BUELT is no longer available and that candidates may take Password Skills Plus instead, at 6.0 (5.5) for most courses.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock