Clemson English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Admissions' English language proficiency page, department pages for Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences and Mechanical Engineering, and Undergraduate Admissions' international page. An old-scale graduate TOEFL minimum is not stated by the Graduate School.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (university minimum) | 6.5 | 4.0 (old scale not stated) | 115 | 54 |
| Graduate, Electrical and Computer Engineering | 6.5 | Old scale 80 | 115 | 54 |
| Graduate, Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences | 7.0 | Old scale 90 | 115 | 61 |
| Undergraduate | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 80 (new scale not stated) | 105 | Not accepted |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, more in some departments
International applicants whose native language is not English send official scores electronically (code 5111) or qualify through their degree. TOEFL MyBest scores are allowed, scores are valid for two years from the test date, and meeting the minimum does not guarantee admission. Student-facing assistantships may need higher scores or a short screening. See English language proficiency.
Departments publish their own figures. ECE lists TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 115 and PTE 54; Mechanical Engineering lists TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5 and PTE 54; Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences lists TOEFL 90, IELTS 7.0, PTE 61 and Duolingo 115. Some programs offer Conditional Language Admission after an approved ESL program, such as ELS level 112.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Waivers, India and undergraduate rules
Clemson publishes no exempt country list for graduate admission. A degree from a regionally accredited US institution, or from a foreign institution where English is the sole language of instruction, satisfies the requirement. Clemson checks the IAU World Higher Education Database (WHED): if English is not the only language listed for your institution, no language is listed, or the institution is missing, you must submit scores, and letters are not accepted. Whether an Indian university qualifies depends on its WHED entry.
Undergraduate proficiency is measured through Duolingo, TOEFL or IELTS: TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5 with 6.0 in each sub-score, or Duolingo 105. Clemson says the test can be waived where English is the primary language or one of the official languages, but does not list countries or say whether India qualifies. Transfers with a B in courses equivalent to ENGL 1030 are exempt. See the undergraduate international page.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Clemson sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Clemson graduate English language proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Clemson?+
IELTS 6.5 is the university minimum. Some departments ask more, such as 7.0 in Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences.
Does Clemson accept PTE?+
Yes for graduate admission, with a minimum of 54 (61 in Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences). Undergraduate proficiency is measured through Duolingo, TOEFL or IELTS only.
Can an English-medium Indian degree waive IELTS at Clemson?+
Only if the IAU World Higher Education Database lists English as the sole language of instruction for your institution. If it lists other languages, none, or not your institution, you must submit scores; letters are not accepted.
What Duolingo score does Clemson need?+
115 for graduate admission and 105 for undergraduate admission.
How long are IELTS scores valid for Clemson?+
Clemson's Graduate School treats English test scores as valid for up to two years from the test date.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- NC State IELTS requirement
- Virginia Tech IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy