Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026
Colorado State PTE minimums by programme
From the Graduate School English proficiency page, the graduate bulletin admissions section and the Computer Science graduate application page.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Graduate: clear admission | 58 | Not stated |
| Graduate: conditional admission (Intensive English Program) | 40 | Not stated |
| Computer Science (general departmental minimum) | 59 | Not stated |
| Computer Science MS, MCS international and PhD | 62 | Not stated |
Test rules and how to send your score
Official scores taken within two years before admission must come directly from the testing agency, sent to Colorado State University, Fort Collins Graduate; photocopies are not accepted. The bulletin gives institution code 4075 for English test scores, and the international admissions page says Pearson score printouts go to the Admissions office. The pages do not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core.
For comparison, graduate IELTS for clear admission is 6.5, and the bulletin accepts the IELTS One Skill Retake.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If you fall short
Conditionally admitted students must complete the Intensive English Program through the Office of International Programs. Taking regular CSU courses needs approval from both the department and the Graduate School. Computer Science does not admit MS or PhD students conditionally.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Colorado State programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Colorado State need?+
PTE Academic 58 for clear graduate admission.
Can I get conditional admission to Colorado State with PTE?+
Yes, from PTE Academic 40, with the Intensive English Program.
What PTE does Colorado State Computer Science need?+
62 for the MS and PhD; the department's general minimum is 59.
How old can my PTE score be?+
Official scores must be from a test taken within two years before admission.
Keep reading
Related
- Colorado State University IELTS requirement
- CU Boulder PTE requirement
- PTE for the USA: scores by university
- How long PTE scores are valid
- All 4937 guides
Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy