University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Crown Institute of Higher Education (CIHE)?

Crown Institute of Higher Education, trading as CIHE Australia, asks for IELTS 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for its diplomas and most bachelor's degrees, and its admissions policy pairs that with PTE Academic 50 (no skill below 42). Postgraduate courses need 6.5 with no band below 6.0, with PTE 56 or 58 depending on the course page. Early childhood education needs 6.5 and the Master of Teaching 7.0.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

CIHE English scores by course

Read today on CIHE's course pages. Minimum bands or skill scores are in brackets; "not listed" means the page names only an equivalent test, such as TOEFL or PTE, without a score.

CourseIELTSPTE Academic
Diploma of IT and Diploma of Accounting6.0 (5.5)Not listed
Bachelor of Business6.0 (5.5)50 (42)
Bachelor of Information Technology6.0 (5.5)Not listed
Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood)6.5 (6.0)58 (50)
Bachelor of Community Services6.5 (6.0)56 (46)
MBA and Graduate Certificate in Business Administration6.5 (6.0)56 (50)
Master of Professional Accounting6.5 (6.0)58 (50)
Master of Information Technology6.5 (6.0)Not listed
Master of Teaching7.0 (6.5)65 (58)

What CIHE's admissions policy says

CIHE's Student Selection and Admission Policy (QA25, version 3.2) sets undergraduate entry at IELTS 6.0 with no band below 5.5 or PTE 50 with no skill below 42. Linguistically demanding undergraduate courses can ask for 6.5 (6.0), with 6.5 in writing for specific courses, or PTE 58 (50). Postgraduate courses need 6.5 with no band below 6.0, or PTE 56 with no skill below 46.

The PTE skill floor differs between the policy (46) and some course pages (50), so go by the stricter figure or confirm with CIHE. The Master of Professional Accounting page also lists TOEFL iBT 79 with 21 in writing. The Master of Research needs Academic IELTS 6.5 with 6.0 in writing, TOEFL iBT 79–93 (writing 21), PTE 58–64 (writing 50) or C1 Advanced 176–184.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

EAP pathway, other evidence and validity

CIHE runs English for Academic Purposes at three levels of 12 weeks each (20 class hours a week). EAP1 starts from IELTS 5.0 (4.5), EAP2 from 5.5 (5.0) and EAP3 from 6.0 (5.5), and completing EAP 2 gives direct entry to any CIHE bachelor's program with no further IELTS needed.

Its international students page also accepts Year 12 in Australia within the past two years, an Australian diploma-level qualification with at least one year completed in the past two years, or a recognised foundation program. Some courses add an online interview. A test validity period, Duolingo and online tests are not stated by CIHE. CIHE shows its TEQSA provider number, PRV14301, in the Institute of Higher Education category.

Requirements vary by course, and CIHE can change them between intakes. Always confirm the score on your course page before you book a test. Your student visa has its own English rules, set by the Department of Home Affairs.

Student visa (subclass 500) English rules

Your offer and your visa are assessed separately. If Home Affairs asks you for English evidence, the Student visa (subclass 500) page sets these minimums for tests taken on or after 7 August 2025: IELTS Academic 6.0, PTE Academic 47 or TOEFL iBT 67. With at least 10 weeks of ELICOS (or a Foundation or eligible Pathway program) packaged with your course they drop to 5.5, 39 and 51, and with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS to 5.0, 31 and 37.

The test must be taken within the 2 years before you lodge (Regular Evidence level), or within the 2 years before a decision if you are Streamlined Evidence level and asked for evidence. Tests delivered entirely online, such as IELTS Online and TOEFL iBT Home Edition, are not accepted for the visa, and from 21 January 2026 TOEFL candidates must select 'Taking TOEFL for Australia' when registering.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does CIHE Australia need?+

PTE Academic 50 with no skill below 42 for undergraduate entry. For postgraduate courses the MBA page lists 56 (50) and the Master of Professional Accounting page 58 (50).

What IELTS do I need for the MBA at CIHE?+

IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with no band below 6.0.

Is Crown Institute of Higher Education the same as CIHE Australia?+

Yes. Crown Institute of Higher Education Pty Ltd trades as CIHE Australia.

Does CIHE accept Duolingo?+

Not stated by CIHE. Its pages name IELTS, PTE and TOEFL, and its policy says equivalent scores in other recognised tests may be considered.

Can I enter a CIHE bachelor's through EAP?+

Yes. Successfully completing EAP 2 gives direct entry to any CIHE bachelor's program without a further IELTS score.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock