DMU IELTS by subject area
From DMU's international entry requirements page, which repeats these ranges in its country entries. Your offer letter states the exact score.
| Subject area | Undergraduate IELTS | Postgraduate IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Art and Design | 6.0 | 6.0–6.5 |
| Business | 6.0 | 6.0 |
| Computing | 6.0 | 6.0 |
| Engineering | 6.0 | 6.0–6.5 |
| Law | 6.5 | 6.5 |
| Humanities and Media | 6.0–6.5 | 6.5 |
| Science | 6.5–7.5 | 6.5 |
PTE, Duolingo and other accepted tests
DMU's accepted English language tests page converts three IELTS levels. It gives no PTE score for the IELTS 5.5 level.
| Test | IELTS 5.5 (5.5) | IELTS 6.0 (5.5) | IELTS 6.5 (6.0) |
|---|---|---|---|
| PTE Academic | Not stated by DMU | 59, no component below 59 | 61, no component below 59 |
| Duolingo English Test | 95 (R 100 · L 95 · S 95 · W 95) | 105 (R 100 · L 95 · S 95 · W 95) | 120 (R 100 · L 95 · S 95 · W 95) |
| LanguageCert Academic | 60, 60 in each component | 65, 60 in each component | 70, 60 in each component |
| Oxford ELLT | 5, no component below 5 | 6, no component below 5 | 7, no component below 5 |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Country notes, pre-sessional and the Student visa
DMU's Nigeria entry says it also accepts WAEC (grade 6 or above) and NECO (C6 or above). The India and Pakistan entries ask for IELTS or an equivalent, and a Standard XII English or English-medium waiver is not stated by DMU. One Skill Retake, IELTS Online, PTE Academic Online and test validity are not stated on the pages read.
DMU's Centre for English Language Learning runs three summer pre-sessional courses of 5, 9 or 13 weeks, online or on campus. Each raises your level by the equivalent of 0.5 IELTS, so you take one course for each half band you are short. DMU says most degrees need IELTS 6.0, while MPhil/PhD and some postgraduate courses need 6.5.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your DMU programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does De Montfort University accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 59 with no component below 59 for IELTS 6.0 (5.5) courses, and 61 with no component below 59 for IELTS 6.5 (6.0) courses.
Does DMU accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 105 overall for IELTS 6.0 (5.5) courses and 120 for IELTS 6.5 (6.0) courses, with reading 100 and listening, speaking and writing 95.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at DMU?+
6.0 for business and computing, 6.0 to 6.5 for art, design and engineering, and 6.5 for humanities, media, law and science.
Can Indian students study at DMU without IELTS?+
A Standard XII English or English-medium waiver is not stated on DMU's India entry, which asks for IELTS or an equivalent such as PTE, Duolingo or LanguageCert.
How long is DMU's pre-sessional course?+
5, 9 or 13 weeks, online or on campus, depending on how far below your required IELTS level you are.
Keep reading
Related
- Coventry University IELTS requirement
- University of Nottingham IELTS requirement
- IELTS for a UK Student visa
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy