Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026
Florida Tech PTE minimums
From the demonstrating English proficiency page, which applies to all programmes and modalities, and the Provost's graduate student assistantship guideline for the Melbourne campus.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Admission, all programmes | 58 | Not stated |
| Graduate research assistantship | 58 | Not stated |
| Doctoral research tuition scholarship (DGRATS) | 58 | Not stated |
| Graduate teaching assistantship | 70 | Not stated; spoken English assessment pass also required |
Validity, sending and the IELTS comparison
The test must be taken no more than two years before attendance at Florida Tech, and scores must be sent directly from the testing agency to count as official. You can apply and be admitted before submitting proof of English, but acceptable proof is needed before immigration documents are issued or you enrol. The page does not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core.
On the same page, IELTS is 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80 (4.0 for tests from 1 January 2026) and Duolingo 105. For teaching assistants the guideline sets IELTS 7.0 alongside PTE 70. The admissions page calls the spoken assessment the International Teaching Assistant Speaking Assessment (ITASA); the assistantship guideline names it the International Proficiency Speaking Assessment (IPSA).
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
Other routes
Students can also qualify with ELS English for Academic Purposes level 112, IB Higher Level English A or AP English Language and Composition at 4 or higher, or study at an institution in the US, UK, Ireland, Australia, Anglophone Canada, the Anglophone Caribbean or Anglophone Africa: three consecutive years and graduation from an accredited high school, 20 semester credits including composition, or a bachelor's or higher degree. Flight students also need ICAO English level 4, tested by Florida Tech Aviation.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Florida Tech programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Florida Tech need?+
PTE Academic 58, taken no more than two years before you start.
What PTE do Florida Tech teaching assistants need?+
PTE Academic 70, plus a pass in Florida Tech's spoken English assessment.
Can Florida Tech admit me before I have a PTE score?+
Yes, but proof of English must arrive before immigration documents are issued or you enrol.
What IELTS matches PTE 58 at Florida Tech?+
Florida Tech lists IELTS 6.5 alongside PTE Academic 58.
Keep reading
Related
- Florida Tech IELTS requirement
- Barry University PTE requirement
- PTE for the USA: scores by university
- How long PTE scores stay valid
- All 4937 guides
Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy