London Met's levels by test
From London Met's undergraduate and postgraduate English pages. No overall PTE score is given, and its English requirements hub says "we no longer accept the online version" of PTE. Most tests are valid for two years and must still be valid on the first day of enrolment, per its SELT FAQ. Oxford ELLT Digital counts only for differential evidence nationals. Research degrees need 6.5 with 6.0 in each skill.
| Test | Standard (UG and PG) | Higher (UG and PG) | Exceptions and advanced |
|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS, incl. IELTS Indicator, IELTS Online and One Skill Retake | 6.0, 5.5 in each component | 6.5, 6.0 in each component | 7.0, 6.5 in each component |
| PTE Academic (in person only) | 59 in each component | 65 (UG) or 70 (PG) in each component | 70 in each component |
| Duolingo English Test | 105; speaking, writing, listening 95, reading 100 | By course (LLB Law 120) | By course (Dietetics, Physiotherapy, Social Work 130) |
| TOEFL iBT incl. Home Edition (from 21 January 2026) | 4 in each component | 4.5 in each component | 5 in each component |
| LanguageCert Academic | 65, 60 in each component | 65, 65 in each component | 70, 65 in each component |
London Met IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026; each names a requirement tier rather than a score, and none states PTE. The adult nursing page asks for the higher requirements (6.5 with 6.0), while the undergraduate English page has a nursing tab asking 7.0, with 6.5 in writing, and PTE 76 in each component, so confirm with admissions. The MBA and Data Analytics MSc take January 2027 starters.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | Standard requirements (6.0, 5.5 in each) |
| Nursing (Adult) BSc | Undergraduate | Higher requirements on the course page; 7.0 on the English page |
| MBA | Postgraduate | Standard requirements (6.0, 5.5 in each) |
| Data Analytics MSc | Postgraduate | Standard requirements (6.0, 5.5 in each) |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Nepali, Nigerian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi applicants
London Met's India page accepts Standard XII English from "All India education boards (except Punjab & Haryana)": 65% for IELTS 6.0 and 6.5 courses and 70% for 7.0 courses, with no time limit stated. Its Nigeria page treats WAEC or NECO C6 as equal to IELTS 6.0 (5.5), for exams from 1999 onwards.
The Nepal page gives NEB XII English for standard courses as both "Grade A or 80" and "Grade B+". The Pakistan page lists no school-English route, and London Met's Bangladesh country page returned an error when checked. Medium of instruction letters are not stated.
| Qualification | London Met requirement |
|---|---|
| Standard XII English (all Indian boards except Punjab and Haryana) | 65% for IELTS 6.0 and 6.5 courses; 70% for 7.0 courses |
| Nepal NEB XII English | Grade A or 80, or Grade B+ (the page gives both) |
| WAEC or NECO SSCE English (from 1999) | C6 for IELTS 6.0 (5.5) courses; B2 for nursing |
| Pakistan HSSC, Bangladesh HSC English | Not stated by London Met |
Compliance interviews, deposit, deadlines and the Student visa
London Met's deadlines page says "applicants from Bangladesh, Ghana, India, Kenya, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia and Sri Lanka need to attend a compliance interview." For January 2027, applicants from outside the differential evidence list apply by 30 November 2026, take the interview by 4 December and pay the deposit by 9 December; differential evidence nationals apply by 14 December. Its CAS page asks a "minimum deposit of £4,000" and also says most students pay 50% of the first year's fees.
London Met's online pre-sessional, run by Oxford International, cost £1,640 for 6 weeks (0.5 IELTS level), £2,665 for 12 weeks (1.0) and £3,490 for 16 weeks (1.5) for September 2026; entry scores and dates are not on London Met's own pages. Its SELT FAQ says a pre-sessional needs a SELT from a UKVI approved centre. Recruitment pauses are not stated.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your London Met programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does London Metropolitan University accept PTE?+
Yes, taken in person: 59 in each component for standard courses and 65 (undergraduate) or 70 (postgraduate) for higher courses. The online PTE is no longer accepted, and no overall score is given.
Does London Met accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 105 with 95 in speaking, writing and listening and 100 in reading for standard courses. Higher courses ask more, up to 130 for Dietetics, Physiotherapy and Social Work.
Can Indian students study at London Met without IELTS?+
Yes, with 65% in Standard XII English from any Indian board except Punjab and Haryana, or 70% for courses needing IELTS 7.0.
Does London Met interview Indian students?+
Yes. Applicants from Bangladesh, Ghana, India, Kenya, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia and Sri Lanka must attend a compliance interview; for January 2027 the latest date is 4 December 2026.
How much deposit does London Met ask?+
Its CAS page gives a minimum deposit of £4,000 and also says most students pay an initial 50% of the first year's fees, so check your offer letter.
Keep reading
Related
- University of East London IELTS requirement
- Middlesex University IELTS requirement
- IELTS for a UK Student visa
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy