Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 31 October 2026
London Met PTE Academic minimums
From London Met's undergraduate and postgraduate English requirements. Scores are stated per component.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Most bachelor's and foundation year degrees (IELTS 6.0, 5.5 each) | Not stated | 59 in each component |
| Bachelor's with higher requirements (for example Biomedical Science BSc) | 65 (Biomedical Science) | 65 in each component |
| LLB Law and Law with International Relations; Dietetics; Social Work BSc | 70 | Not stated |
| Most master's degrees (IELTS 6.0, 5.5 each) | Not stated | 59 in each component |
| Master's with higher requirements (for example Human Rights Law LLM, Psychology MSc, Translation MA) | Not stated | 70 in each component |
| Advanced master's (for example Social Work MSc, Dietetics and Nutrition MSc, GDL) | Not stated | 70 in each component |
Test rules at London Met
London Met's main English requirements page says it no longer accepts the online version of PTE; the test has to be completed in person. The page adds that if you need a student visa you may also need to provide a Secure English Language Test (SELT). The pages give no PTE validity period or Pearson institution code.
For the higher-requirement master's, the IELTS equivalent is 6.5 with 6.0 in each component; for the advanced group it is 7.0 with 6.5 in each, yet both list PTE 70 in each component.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If your PTE score falls short
London Met runs Pre-sessional Academic English courses for applicants who do not yet meet their course requirement.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your London Met programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE does London Met need?+
59 in each component for most bachelor's and master's degrees.
Does London Met accept PTE Academic Online?+
No. London Met no longer accepts the online PTE; it must be taken in person.
What PTE does London Met Law need?+
70 for LLB Law and Law with International Relations.
What PTE does a London Met Social Work MSc need?+
70 in each component.
Keep reading
Related
- London Metropolitan University IELTS requirement
- Middlesex University PTE requirement
- PTE for the UK: universities and visa
- Free PTE mock test with AI scoring
- All 3605 guides
Guide updated on 31 October 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy