Murdoch Dubai's levels by test
From Murdoch Dubai's English entry requirements page. The Foundation Program and Diploma rows are identical, so they are merged below. Some PTE section minimums are higher than the overall score (53 in reading against 50 overall); that is how the page publishes them. The Kaplan Test of English is 410, 444 or 478.
| Test | Foundation and Diploma | Standard UG and PG | MEd and Graduate Certificates in Education |
|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 5.5, no band less than 5.0 | 6.0, no band less than 6.0 | 6.5, no band less than 6.0 |
| PTE Academic | 45; reading 48, listening 43, speaking 42, writing 51 | 50; reading 53, listening 50, speaking 50, writing 54 | 58; reading 53, listening 50, speaking 50, writing 58 |
| TOEFL iBT | 46; reading 8, listening 7, speaking 16, writing 18 | 60; reading 13, listening 12, speaking 18, writing 21 | 79; reading 13, listening 12, speaking 18, writing 21 |
| Duolingo English Test | 100; 85 reading, speaking, listening, 80 writing | 115; 110 reading, writing, speaking, 105 listening | 120; 110 reading, writing, speaking, 105 listening |
| Michigan English Test | 49; reading 47, writing 45, speaking 38, listening 49 | 53; reading 55, writing 57, speaking 48, listening 56 | 58; reading 55, writing 57, speaking 48, listening 56 |
Indian Class XII and the Foundation Program
Murdoch Dubai's academic entry page sets Indian school grades, not English waivers. A CBSE or other Indian school-English route is not stated by Murdoch Dubai; its English page instead points to a "previous tertiary study" check on the Perth site.
The Foundation Program runs one year over three trimesters (8 units), with January, May and September intakes. Completing it lets you progress to a Murdoch degree with an indicative selection rank of 70.
| Qualification | Murdoch Dubai academic requirement |
|---|---|
| CBSE, CISCE or NIOS Class XII (undergraduate) | 65% average in the best 4 academic subjects |
| CBSE, CISCE or NIOS Class XII (diploma) | 50% average in the best 4 academic subjects |
| State boards except Punjab, Class XII (undergraduate) | 70% average in the best 4 academic subjects |
| State boards except Punjab, Class XII (diploma) | 60% average in the best 4 academic subjects |
| Class XI (Foundation Program) | 50% average in the best 4 academic subjects |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →UAE visa note
Murdoch Dubai's student visa page says it sponsors visas through the Dubai Development Authority for full-time students, valid 12 months and renewable, once you accept an unconditional offer and pay the fees due. Whether UAE Ministry or CAA English minimums such as EmSAT apply is not stated by Murdoch Dubai.
In the UAE, the student residence visa is sponsored by the university. Murdoch Dubai's visa page sets no English score for it; the English bar is the admission requirement above.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Murdoch Dubai programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score does Murdoch Dubai need?+
6.0 with no band less than 6.0 for standard undergraduate and postgraduate courses, 5.5 (5.0) for the Foundation Program and diplomas, and 6.5 (6.0) for the MEd.
Does Murdoch Dubai accept PTE?+
Yes: 50 overall at the standard level, with section minimums of 53 reading, 50 listening, 50 speaking and 54 writing. Foundation and diploma entry is 45.
Does Murdoch Dubai accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 115 at the standard level (110 in reading, writing and speaking, 105 in listening), 100 for foundation and diploma, and 120 for the MEd.
Can CBSE students skip IELTS at Murdoch Dubai?+
A CBSE school-English waiver is not stated by Murdoch Dubai. CBSE Class XII sets the academic bar: 65% in the best four subjects for undergraduate entry.
Does Murdoch Dubai accept EmSAT?+
EmSAT is not stated by Murdoch Dubai. Its English page lists IELTS, PTE, TOEFL iBT, Kaplan, Duolingo and the Michigan English Test.
Keep reading
Related
- Murdoch University (Perth) IELTS requirement
- IELTS for UAE universities
- English test score comparison
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy