Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026
Oakland PTE minimums by level
From the undergraduate international admissions page, the ESL Institute's English proficiency policy and the graduate catalogue's international admission requirements.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 53 | Not stated |
| Graduate: full admission | 53 | Not stated |
| Graduate: limited standing with ESL course sequence | 48 to 52 | Not stated |
Sending scores and the IELTS comparison
The undergraduate page accepts unofficial transcripts and copies of current score reports, PTE Academic included, from first-year and transfer applicants by email to international@oakland.edu. The pages give no PTE validity period or Pearson code and do not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core. Some programmes ask for higher English scores than the university minimum.
IELTS is 6.5 for full admission at both levels, and the graduate limited-standing band is IELTS 6. Duolingo is 100 for undergraduates and 105 for graduate applicants.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If you fall short
Graduate applicants admitted with limited standing must enrol in the ESL course sequence set by the ESL Institute from their first semester and are expected to finish it within one year. The Graduate School may grant full admission once the student completes three level 7 courses with at least A- or three level 8 courses with at least B- and is in good academic standing. Undergraduates can meet the requirement by completing three level 7 courses at the ESL Institute with at least B-.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Oakland programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Oakland University need?+
PTE Academic 53 for undergraduate and for full graduate admission.
Can I get into an Oakland master's with PTE 50?+
Possibly with limited standing: the graduate catalogue lists PTE 48 to 52 for admission with an ESL course sequence, if you are otherwise academically qualified.
Can I send Oakland an unofficial PTE score?+
Undergraduate first-year and transfer applicants can email a copy of a current PTE Academic score report to international@oakland.edu.
What IELTS matches PTE 53 at Oakland?+
Oakland lists IELTS 6.5 alongside PTE Academic 53.
Keep reading
Related
- Oakland University IELTS requirement
- Central Michigan University PTE requirement
- PTE for the USA: scores by university
- Free PTE mock test with AI scoring
- All 4937 guides
Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy