University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Royal Holloway?

Royal Holloway, University of London asks for IELTS 6.5 for most degrees, with sub-scores set by subject. Computer Science needs 5.5 in each skill, humanities and business undergraduates 6.0 in writing, and most taught master's 6.0 in every skill. PTE Academic is 67 and Duolingo 120 in each case. Royal Holloway accepts IELTS Indicator, and research degrees need 7.0 in writing.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Royal Holloway scores by subject

From Royal Holloway's English language requirements page. Certificates must be issued no more than two years before the course starts. One year of bachelor's-level study in a majority English-speaking country can also count.

Subject and levelIELTSPTE AcademicDuolingo
Computer Science (UG and PGT)6.5, no subscore lower than 5.567, no subscore lower than 59120, no sub-score below 100
Business, Law, Economics, English (UG)6.5, 6 in Writing, 5.5 in each subscore67, 63 in writing, 59 in others120; Literacy and Production 115, others 100
Business, Law, Economics, English (PGT)6.5, no subscore lower than 6.067, no subscore lower than 63120, no sub-score below 115
Biological Sciences (PGT)6.5, Writing 7.0, others 5.567, Writing 71, others 59120; Literacy and Production 135, others 100
MSc Occupational Therapy7.0, no sub-score below 6.571, no sub-score lower than 67130, no sub-score below 125
All research degrees6.5, Writing 7.0, others 5.567, Writing 71, others 59120; Literacy and Production 135, others 100

Indian applicants and medium of instruction

Royal Holloway's India page accepts Class 12 English at 70% for undergraduate and taught master's study and 80% for research degrees. It says the undergraduate result is valid for 2 years, then that both are valid for 5 years, so confirm the time limit with admissions.

It also accepts a bachelor's or master's from listed Indian universities as proof of English for three years after the degree ends: Anna, Ashoka, IISc Bangalore, IIT Bombay, Delhi, Kanpur, Kharagpur and Madras, IIM Ahmedabad, OP Jindal, Shoolini, SRM, Calcutta, Delhi, Kerala, Mumbai, Bennett and Amity.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Pakistan, Nigeria and Bangladesh

Royal Holloway's Pakistan page lists nine universities whose degrees it accepts as proof of English: Punjab Lahore, Bahria, NUST, Quaid-i-Azam, FAST NUCES, Karachi, IBA Karachi, Lahore School of Economics and LUMS. A paragraph lower on the same page names four for postgraduates, including Greenwich University Karachi, which is not in the list. The two statements conflict, so confirm with admissions.

The Nigeria page says a bachelor's completed in Nigeria may automatically meet the requirement for postgraduate degrees. The Bangladesh page gives no exemption, and a WAEC or Nepal route is not stated by Royal Holloway.

Pre-sessional English, deposits and the Student visa

Royal Holloway's pre-sessional programme runs online with Study Group for 12, 10 or 6 weeks at £350 a week. For a degree needing 6.5 with 5.5, entry is IELTS 5.5 (4.5) for 12 weeks, 5.5 (5.0) for 10 weeks or 6.0 (5.5) for 6 weeks. Your IELTS must be a SELT if a subscore is below 5.5 and you join the pre-sessional with IELTS or a linked CAS.

Its fees and deposits page says undergraduates who need a Student visa pay a £3,000 or £10,000 tuition fee deposit before a CAS is issued; which applies is not explained in the text read. Postgraduates also pay a deposit before the CAS.

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Royal Holloway programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does Royal Holloway accept PTE?+

Yes. Most degrees need PTE Academic 67, with 59, 63 or 71 in particular skills depending on the subject. Whether PTE Academic Online is accepted is not stated by Royal Holloway.

Does Royal Holloway accept Duolingo?+

Yes: 120 for most courses, with sub-score minimums from 100 to 135 by subject, and 130 for MSc Occupational Therapy.

Does Royal Holloway accept IELTS Online?+

Royal Holloway lists IELTS including IELTS Indicator. Whether IELTS Online is accepted is not stated on its English requirements page.

Can Indian students study at Royal Holloway without IELTS?+

Yes, with 70% in Class 12 English for undergraduate or taught master's study, or a degree from one of the listed Indian universities completed within three years.

What IELTS do I need for a master's at Royal Holloway?+

Usually 6.5 with no subscore below 6.0. Computer Science, Electronic Engineering and Information Security master's accept 5.5 in each skill.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock