University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for Tennessee State University?

Tennessee State University accepts a Pearson PTE Academic score of 50 as proof of English for international undergraduate applicants, both freshman and transfer. No per-skill minimum is printed. The same list accepts IELTS 5.0, TOEFL iBT 61 and Duolingo 75, or completion of Level 7 in TSU's own Intensive English Program.
  • Guide updated · 2 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 2 November 2026

Tennessee State PTE scores by level

From TSU's international admissions page.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
Undergraduate, freshman and transfer50No per-skill minimum printed
GraduateNot stated on this pageCheck the School of Graduate and Professional Studies

Test rules and how PTE compares with IELTS

The page does not mention PTE Academic Online, PTE Core, a validity period or a sending method. It asks applicants not to submit documents by email to the Office of Admissions and notes that TSU does not offer test discount codes.

On the same list, IELTS is 5.0 overall, so PTE 50 is TSU's equivalent of IELTS 5.0. TOEFL iBT is 61 and Duolingo 75.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

If you fall short

Completing Level 7 of Tennessee State University's Intensive English Program meets the requirement, as do 12 hours of US college credit with a cumulative GPA of 2.0. The page does not state a PTE entry score for the Intensive English Program.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Tennessee State programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does Tennessee State University need?+

Pearson PTE Academic 50 for undergraduate international applicants.

Is there a per-skill PTE minimum at TSU?+

None is printed.

Can I meet TSU's English rule without a test?+

Yes, with Level 7 of TSU's Intensive English Program or 12 US college credit hours at a 2.0 GPA.

Does the page give a graduate PTE score?+

No. Graduate applicants should check with the School of Graduate and Professional Studies.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 2 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy