University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for Texas A&M University-Kingsville?

Texas A&M University-Kingsville accepts PTE overall 44 for most undergraduate programmes and 53 for the College of Engineering and the College of Arts and Sciences. Graduate applicants need PTE 53, and the College of Graduate Studies accepts electronic PTE scores. Scores must come straight from the testing portal and be no older than two years.
  • Guide updated · 1 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026

TAMUK PTE minimums by programme

From the undergraduate catalogue's international admission page, the graduate catalogue's admission requirements and TAMUK's international admissions page. The undergraduate catalogue lists PTE as an equivalent of its TOEFL minimums: 44 alongside TOEFL 61, and 53 alongside TOEFL 79.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
Undergraduate: most programmes44Not stated
Undergraduate: Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering and College of Arts and Sciences53Not stated
Graduate53Not stated

Sending scores, validity and the IELTS comparison

The graduate section of the international admissions page asks you to send all test scores directly from the testing portal: soft copies sent by email or through the upload portal will not be used to complete your file, and scores older than two years are treated as expired. The graduate catalogue says the College of Graduate Studies accepts electronic PTE scores. No page mentions PTE Academic Online or PTE Core.

In the undergraduate catalogue, PTE 44 sits with IELTS 6.0 and PTE 53 with IELTS 6.5. For graduate study, IELTS is 6.0 overall and only scores sent electronically by the test centre are accepted.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

If you fall short

Undergraduates can complete TAMUK's Intensive English Program with an average of 85% (90% for engineering and arts and sciences) at the levels the catalogue lists, or the advanced level of the Texas Intensive English Program (TIEP). Graduate applicants can use completion of the TAMUK ELTC Intensive English Program at Advanced Plus, the TIEP advanced level, a GRE Verbal score of 146, or Duolingo 100. The graduate catalogue adds that admission requirements may vary by programme.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your TAMUK programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does Texas A&M-Kingsville need?+

PTE overall 44 for most undergraduate programmes, 53 for engineering and arts and sciences, and 53 for graduate admission.

Does TAMUK accept PTE for graduate admission?+

Yes. The graduate catalogue says the College of Graduate Studies accepts electronic PTE scores, with a minimum of 53.

Can I email my PTE score report to TAMUK?+

Not for the graduate file. Scores must be sent from the testing portal; soft copies by email or upload are not used.

How old can my PTE score be for TAMUK?+

No older than two years, or it is considered expired.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy