University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi?

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi asks for PTE Academic 53 from both undergraduate and graduate international applicants. The same figure appears on the freshman page, the graduate international page and the graduate catalogue. None of these pages gives a per-skill PTE minimum, a validity period or a rule on PTE Academic Online.
  • Guide updated · 1 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026

TAMUCC PTE minimums by level

From the international freshmen page, the graduate international students page and the graduate catalogue's admissions section.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
Undergraduate (freshman)53Not stated
Graduate53Not stated

Sending scores and the IELTS comparison

The graduate catalogue asks test takers to have official scores sent to the Office of Recruitment and Admissions at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, 6300 Ocean Drive Unit 5774, Corpus Christi, TX 78412-5774. It gives no Pearson code, and none of the pages mentions PTE Academic Online, PTE Core or how long a PTE score stays valid.

On the same pages, IELTS Academic is 6.0 overall for both undergraduates and graduates, and TAMUCC does not accept IELTS General Training. TOEFL iBT is 73 (4 for tests from 21 January 2026) and Duolingo 100.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

Exemptions and other routes

You do not need a test if you completed a bachelor's degree at a US or Canadian institution, or two years of English-taught instruction at a US or Canadian high school or college. Freshmen can also use SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing of 550, ACT English of 21, four years at a US high school, Cambridge C1 Advanced 175 or C2 Proficiency 180, and the freshman page mentions other compelling evidence of English proficiency. None of the pages offers a conditional route for a PTE score below 53.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your TAMUCC programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does Texas A&M-Corpus Christi need?+

PTE Academic 53 for both undergraduate and graduate admission.

What IELTS matches PTE 53 at TAMUCC?+

TAMUCC lists IELTS Academic 6.0 overall for both levels. IELTS General Training is not accepted.

Where do I send my PTE score for TAMUCC?+

The graduate catalogue asks for official scores to be sent to the Office of Recruitment and Admissions. No Pearson code is printed.

Does TAMUCC give per-skill PTE minimums?+

No. The pages list an overall PTE Academic score of 53 only.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy