Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026
Texas Tech PTE minimums by level
From the undergraduate English proficiency page and the Graduate School international applicants page.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate (PTE Academic or PTE Express) | 60 | Not stated |
| Graduate School | 60 | Not stated |
Test rules and how to send your score
Both pages say PTE Academic scores are valid for only two years and that there is no PTE Academic institution code for Texas Tech. PTE General and PTE Young Learners are not accepted. The pages do not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core.
For comparison, both pages set IELTS Academic at an overall band of 6.5, and IELTS General Training is not accepted.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If you fall short
The two pages read here do not describe a conditional or pathway route tied to PTE. Some graduate departments, such as computer science, repeat the 60 minimum on their own pages, so check the department page as well as the Graduate School page.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Texas Tech programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Texas Tech need?+
PTE Academic 60 for both undergraduate and graduate admission.
Does Texas Tech have a PTE code?+
No. Both pages say there is no PTE Academic institution code for Texas Tech.
Does Texas Tech accept PTE Express?+
The undergraduate page accepts PTE Academic or PTE Express at 60.
How long is a PTE score valid for Texas Tech?+
Two years, according to both pages.
Keep reading
Related
- Texas Tech University IELTS requirement
- University of North Texas PTE requirement
- PTE for the USA: scores by university
- How long PTE scores are valid
- All 4937 guides
Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy