UC Davis English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Studies' English language examinations page and the University of California's undergraduate English proficiency page. Graduate section minimums are not stated by UC Davis.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (university minimum) | 7.0 | 4.5 (old scale 80) | 115 | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate first-year (UC-wide) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 80) | 115 | Not accepted |
Graduate: IELTS 7.0, Duolingo with conditions
TOEFL and IELTS scores expire after two years, and older scores are not accepted; Duolingo validity is not stated by UC Davis. IELTS Indicator is accepted, but TOEFL MyBest and IELTS One Skill Retake are not. UC Davis strongly recommends TOEFL or IELTS, and applicants admitted on Duolingo alone must take its Test of Oral English Proficiency. Programs may set stricter requirements.
You are exempt with a bachelor's, master's or doctorate from a US institution teaching only in English, or from a foreign university listed in the IAU World Higher Education Database (WHED) with English as the sole language of instruction. No other documents, such as letters or certificates, are accepted. Indian students qualify only if their university's WHED listing shows English alone. See English language examinations.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: University of California rules
First-year applicants schooled where English is not the language of instruction can use IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4.5 (80 before January 2026), Duolingo 115, AP or IB English, ACT English Language Arts 24 or SAT Writing and Language 31. A campus may require more. Transfers need a C or higher in two English composition courses, and Davis may strongly recommend or require more testing for admitted transfers. See UC English proficiency.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UC Davis sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UC Davis English language examinations page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UC Davis?+
IELTS 7.0 is the Graduate Studies minimum. Individual programs may set stricter requirements.
Does UC Davis accept PTE?+
No. UC Davis Graduate Studies accepts English proficiency scores only from TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo.
Can Indian students get an English waiver at UC Davis?+
Only if your university is listed in the World Higher Education Database with English as the sole language of instruction. Letters from your university are not accepted.
What Duolingo score does UC Davis need?+
115 for graduate admission, but UC Davis strongly recommends TOEFL or IELTS, and Duolingo-only admits must take its oral English test.
What TOEFL score does UC Davis need on the new scale?+
4.5 out of 6.0 for tests from 21 January 2026, or 80 for earlier tests.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- UC San Diego IELTS requirement
- UC Berkeley IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy