UC Riverside English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Graduate Division's admission requirements and UC Admissions' English language proficiency page. Graduate TOEFL and IELTS scores must be taken within two years of the time you intend to enrol at UCR. TOEFL section minimums are not stated by UCR.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (all programs) | 7 (no component below 6) | 4.0 (old scale 80) | Not accepted | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate (UC-wide minimum) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 80) | 115 | Not accepted |
Graduate: IELTS 7, and the English-medium degree route
UCR says you can demonstrate proficiency with either the TOEFL or the IELTS. IELTS Online and the TOEFL iBT Home Edition are accepted; IELTS One Skill Retake, TOEFL MyBest and TOEFL ITP+ are not. An unofficial score report may be used for initial review, and admitted students then send official scores electronically (TOEFL code 4839). Graduate conditional admission is not stated by UCR.
You meet the requirement without a test if you hold a degree from a regionally accredited US college where English is the sole language of instruction, or from an institution outside the US where English is the exclusive language of instruction, confirmed through WHED; if English is not the only language listed, more documents may be needed. UCR names no countries, so India is not on any list. Its international academic records page also says Indian applicants need a four-year bachelor's; three-year degrees are not acceptable.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: UC-wide IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 115
UC Riverside undergraduates follow the University of California's systemwide rule. First-years who completed all secondary school where English is not the language of instruction show proficiency by December of their final year with IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (80 before January 2026), Duolingo 115, ACT English Language Arts 24, SAT Writing and Language 31, AP or IB English, or a C in a UC-transferable English composition course. PTE is not on the list. UC does not accept IELTS One Skill Retake or TOEFL MyBest, a campus may require a higher score, and scores must still be valid when you send them after admission. See UC English language proficiency.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UC Riverside sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UCR graduate admission requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UC Riverside?+
IELTS Academic 7 overall, with no component below 6. The test must be taken within two years of the time you intend to enrol.
Does UC Riverside accept Duolingo or PTE for graduate admission?+
No. UCR's graduate admission page lists only the TOEFL and the IELTS. Duolingo 115 is accepted for undergraduate admission under the UC-wide rule; PTE is not accepted at either level.
What TOEFL score does UC Riverside need on the new scale?+
4.0 for tests taken from 21 January 2026, or 80 on the old 0–120 scale, for graduate admission. Undergraduates need 4.5 (80 before January 2026).
Can Indian students skip IELTS at UC Riverside?+
UCR does not name India. A degree from an institution where English is the exclusive language of instruction, confirmed through WHED, meets the requirement, and extra documents may be requested.
Does UCR accept a three-year Indian bachelor's degree?+
No. UCR's international academic records page says applicants from India need a bachelor's degree requiring four years of study; three-year degrees are not acceptable.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- UC Irvine IELTS requirement
- UC San Diego IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy