University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for the University of Houston-Clear Lake?

The University of Houston-Clear Lake asks for a PTE score of 53 from both international freshman and graduate applicants. Scores can be no more than two years old and are only accepted when received directly from the testing company. UHCL's pages give no per-skill PTE minimum and do not say whether PTE Academic Online is accepted.
  • Guide updated · 1 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026

UHCL PTE minimums by level

From UHCL's international freshman and international graduate application pages, which use the same English proficiency list.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
International freshman53Not stated
Graduate53Not stated

Validity, sending and the IELTS comparison

Both pages say your scores cannot be more than two years old and that only scores received directly from the testing company will be accepted. They print an institution code for TOEFL but none for PTE, and they do not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core. The Duolingo note adds that some programmes may require a higher score.

On the same pages, IELTS is 6.0, TOEFL iBT is 79 (4 for tests from 21 January 2026) and Duolingo is 115, at both levels.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

Other routes

Completing Level 112 of the ELS Intensive English Language program meets the requirement at both levels. Graduate applicants can also use a GRE Verbal score at the 11th percentile or higher. Students educated in the listed countries where English is an official language meet the requirement, and the academic catalogue sets out further waivers. Neither page describes conditional admission for a lower PTE score.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UHCL programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does UHCL need?+

A PTE score of 53 for both international freshman and graduate applicants.

How old can my PTE score be for UHCL?+

No more than two years old, and it must be received directly from the testing company.

What IELTS score matches PTE 53 at UHCL?+

UHCL lists IELTS 6.0 alongside PTE 53 for both freshman and graduate admission.

Does UHCL accept PTE Academic Online?+

The pages do not say. Check with the Office of International Admissions before booking an online test.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy