Ulster IELTS levels and equivalent scores
Ulster's English language requirements page gives 6.0 with no band under 5.5 as the requirement for most courses, and says some courses ask for more. It gives equivalents for each IELTS level. A PTE score is stated only for the 6.0 level.
| IELTS level | PTE Academic (UKVI or non-UKVI) | Duolingo (taken after July 2024) | LanguageCert Academic (centre-based) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6.0, minimum 5.5 | 59, minimum 59 in each part | 110, no subscore below 100 | 65, no element below 60 |
| 6.5, minimum 5.5 | Not stated by Ulster | Not stated by Ulster | 70, no element below 60 |
| 6.5, minimum 6.0 | Not stated by Ulster | 125, no subscore below 110 | 70, no element below 65 |
| 7.0, minimum 6.0 | Not stated by Ulster | Not stated by Ulster | 75, no element below 65 |
| 7.0, minimum 6.5 | Not stated by Ulster | 135, no subscore below 125 | 75, no element below 70 |
Indian, Nigerian and Pakistani applicants
Ulster's India page says the Standard XII English result must be English Core. Ulster's Oxford ELLT (OIDI) is not accepted for students from Bangladesh or Pakistan. A school qualification route for Pakistan is not stated by Ulster.
| Qualification | IELTS 6.0 level | IELTS 6.5 level | IELTS 7.0 level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indian Standard XII English | 70%, from CBSE/ICSE or the Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Telangana, Tamil Nadu or West Bengal boards; no time limit | Not accepted | Not accepted |
| WAEC or NECO | Grade C6 | Grade C5 | Grade C4 |
| Oxford ELLT (OIDI) | 6, minimum 5 in each subskill | 7, minimum 6 in each subskill | 8, minimum 7 in each subskill |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Validity, other tests and pre-sessional
English tests must have been awarded within the last two years; Oxford ELLT within 18 months and the QA test within one year. School qualifications must be awarded within three years of the semester start unless Ulster says otherwise, as it does for Indian Standard XII and WAEC/NECO, which have no time limit.
For TOEFL iBT taken after 21 January 2026, Ulster asks for 4 with 4 in each skill for the 6.0 level. For older tests it asks for 80 (6.0), 90 (6.5) or 100 (7.0) with skill minimums. It does not accept TOEFL MyBest scores.
Ulster's 7-week summer pre-sessional needs IELTS 5.5 overall, with only one band at 5.0. Ulster says that if you meet your course's English level you also meet the UKVI minimum for a Student visa.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Ulster programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does Ulster University accept PTE?+
Yes, PTE Academic UKVI or non-UKVI: 59 with at least 59 in each part for the IELTS 6.0 level. PTE Academic Online is not accepted.
Does Ulster accept IELTS Online and One Skill Retake?+
Yes. Ulster accepts IELTS Academic Online and One Skill Retake.
Can Indian students study at Ulster without IELTS?+
Yes, for IELTS 6.0-level courses, with 70% in Standard XII English (English Core) from CBSE/ICSE or the Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Telangana, Tamil Nadu or West Bengal boards.
Does Ulster accept Duolingo?+
Yes, for tests taken after July 2024: 110 with no subscore below 100 for IELTS 6.0 courses, 125 (110) for 6.5 (6.0) and 135 (125) for 7.0 (6.5).
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Ulster?+
Most Ulster courses ask for 6.0 with no band below 5.5. Some courses ask for more, so check your course page.
Keep reading
Related
- Northumbria University IELTS requirement
- IELTS One Skill Retake explained
- PTE vs IELTS for a UK visa
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy