Northumbria IELTS examples from course pages
Northumbria's English language policy says requirements are stated as IELTS scores and that the university sets equivalent scores for other recognised tests. These course pages were read on 4 October 2026.
| Course | Level | IELTS Academic |
|---|---|---|
| English Language BA (Hons) | Undergraduate | 6.0, 5.5 in each component |
| Human Computer Interaction MSc | Postgraduate | 6.5, 5.5 in each component |
| Global Sustainable Business Management MSc | Postgraduate | 6.5, 5.5 in each component |
| Nursing Science BSc and MSc (registered nurse routes) | Undergraduate and postgraduate | 7.0, writing 6.5, reading, listening and speaking 7.0 |
Accepted tests and Indian and West African qualifications
From Northumbria's acceptable English qualifications page. Country qualifications count where their English component meets an appropriate level; the grade needed is not stated on the page. A school-qualification route for Pakistan is not stated by Northumbria.
| Test or qualification | Northumbria's rule |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | Score set on each course page |
| PTE Academic | Test centre only; score not stated by Northumbria |
| TOEFL iBT | Test centre only; score not stated by Northumbria |
| Duolingo | Listed as recognised; score not stated by Northumbria |
| LanguageCert Academic | In-person, online and SELT versions listed |
| Indian Standard XII English (CBSE, CISCE and listed state boards) | Accepted; listed state boards are Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal |
| Standard XII from Punjab, Gujarat or Haryana boards | IELTS mandatory |
| WAEC or NECO (West Africa) | Listed; grade not stated by Northumbria |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Validity, pre-sessional and the Student visa
Northumbria's policy says validity periods typically follow the awarding body or UKVI, which is typically two years, and that the test you present must be your latest. Admissions may ask for a more recent test. One Skill Retake and IELTS Online are not stated by Northumbria. On-campus courses below degree level, such as the pre-sessional, need a UKVI SELT for Student visa applicants unless an exemption applies.
Applicants 0.5 or 1 IELTS point below their requirement may be eligible for the English Language and Study Skills (ELSS) summer pre-sessional. Its course page, labelled 2024/25 entry, sets these minimums:
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Northumbria programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
| Your degree requires | Pre-sessional minimum entry |
|---|---|
| IELTS 6.0, minimum 5.5 | IELTS 5.0, no component below 4.5 |
| IELTS 6.5, minimum 5.5 | IELTS 5.5, no component below 4.5 |
| IELTS 6.5, minimum 6.0 | IELTS 5.5, no component below 5.0 |
Frequently asked questions
Does Northumbria University accept PTE?+
Yes, PTE Academic taken at a test centre. The equivalent PTE score is not stated on the pages read; Northumbria's policy says it sets scores equivalent to the IELTS requirement on your course page.
Does Northumbria accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo is on Northumbria's list of recognised English tests, but the score needed is not stated on the pages read.
Can Indian students study at Northumbria without IELTS?+
Standard XII English from CBSE, CISCE and listed state boards is accepted. Applicants from the Punjab, Gujarat and Haryana boards must take IELTS.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Northumbria?+
Typically 6.5 with 5.5 in each component, as on the MSc Human-Computer Interaction page. Nursing master's routes need 7.0 with 6.5 in writing and 7.0 in the other skills.
How long is IELTS valid for Northumbria?+
Northumbria's policy says validity typically follows the awarding body or UKVI period, which is typically two years.
Keep reading
Related
- Teesside University IELTS requirement
- University of Sunderland IELTS requirement
- Newcastle University IELTS requirement
- IELTS for a UK Student visa
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy