University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Sunderland?

The University of Sunderland's standard requirement for on-campus applicants is IELTS 6.0 overall with every element at 5.5 or higher. Some courses ask for more: MSc Nursing needs 6.5 with at least 5.5 in each band. UKVI and non-UKVI IELTS Academic are both accepted, IELTS must be valid at course start, and an English-medium letter may count depending on your region.
  • Checked against official sources · 4 October 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

What Sunderland accepts

Sunderland's admissions policy sets the standard of IELTS 6.0 with each element at 5.5 or higher, and says an approved Secure English Language Test may be accepted instead. Its English language requirements page lists the evidence below. Course pages can ask for more; MSc Nursing needs 6.5 with at least 5.5 in each band. The PTE and Cambridge rows come from the University of Sunderland in London's page.

EvidenceWhat Sunderland states
IELTS Academic (UKVI-verified or not)6.0 overall, each element 5.5 or higher; valid for up to two years before the course start date
PTE Academic (London campus page)Minimum 59 in each of the four skills; not the online or at-home test
Cambridge C1 Advanced (London campus page)170 overall, minimum 160 in each skill
Letter confirming you were taught in EnglishMay be accepted depending on the region you apply from; ask Sunderland's immigration compliance team
LanguageCert, Oxford International Online DigitalListed as accepted; score not stated by Sunderland
Sunderland pre-sessional English certificateValid for up to two years before the course start date

Pre-sessional English routes

Sunderland runs online English for Academic Purposes (EAP) pre-sessional courses. The Intermediate course lasts 10 weeks, needs IELTS 5.0 with no skill below 4.5, and aims to bring you to the IELTS equivalent of 6.0. That page names the other two levels below.

Your current IELTS (or equivalent)Online EAP course
4.5Pre-sessional English, Pre-Intermediate
5.0, no skill below 4.5Pre-sessional English, Intermediate (10 weeks)
5.5Pre-sessional English, Upper-Intermediate

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

What Sunderland does not state, and the Student visa

If your English qualification has expired, Sunderland may accept a letter saying your previous study at RQF level 5 or higher was taught in English. Duolingo, IELTS One Skill Retake, IELTS Online and country routes for India, Pakistan or Nigeria are not stated on Sunderland's campus English pages. The London campus also runs its own English Language Proficiency Test (ELPT).

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Sunderland programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does the University of Sunderland accept PTE?+

The University of Sunderland in London's page accepts PTE Academic, not the online or at-home version, with at least 59 in each skill. The main campus page does not list PTE.

Does Sunderland accept a medium of instruction (MOI) letter?+

Possibly. Sunderland lists a letter from your college or university confirming you were taught in English, depending on the region you apply from. Ask its immigration compliance team before relying on it.

What IELTS do I need for a master's at Sunderland?+

The standard is 6.0 with each element at 5.5 or higher. Some courses ask for more, such as MSc Nursing at 6.5 with 5.5 in each band.

How long is IELTS valid for Sunderland?+

Up to two years before the start date of your course.

Does Sunderland accept Duolingo?+

Duolingo is not stated on Sunderland's campus English language requirements pages.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock