University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Derby?

The University of Derby asks undergraduates for IELTS 6.0 with at least 5.5 in each skill and taught postgraduates for 6.5 with 5.5, though nursing and some other courses ask for more. PTE Academic is 59 or 65 with 59 in each component, and Derby accepts the online PTE. Duolingo is not on its main list, and Derby does not accept medium of instruction letters from India or Pakistan.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Derby's levels by test

From Derby's English language tests page. Its undergraduate and postgraduate apply pages set the standard levels and warn that some courses strictly accept only IELTS. Derby's India and Pakistan pages mention only UKVI or Academic IELTS, no older than two years, which is narrower than the main table. Whether IELTS Online or IELTS Indicator is accepted is not stated.

TestIELTS 6.0 (5.5)IELTS 6.5 (5.5)IELTS 6.5 (6.0)IELTS 7.0 (6.5)
IELTS Academic (incl. One Skill Retake)6.0 with 5.56.5 with 5.56.5 with 6.07.0 with 6.5
Pearson PTE Academic or UKVI (incl. online)59, no less than 59 each65, no less than 59 each71, no less than 65 each76, no less than 65 each
TOEFL iBT incl. Home Edition (from 21 January 2026)4; reading 3.5, others 34.54.55
Oxford ELLT6, 5 in each component7, 5 in each component7, 6 in each component8, 7 in each component

Derby IELTS on course pages

These course pages were read on 8 October 2026; none gives a PTE score. Duolingo appears only on the online iPGCE page, a distance course, not on Derby's main list of tests. Derby also says that if you studied in a majority English-speaking country you may not need a formal English qualification.

CourseLevelIELTS
Computer Science BScUndergraduate6.0, at least 5.5 in each skills area
Nursing (Adult) BScUndergraduate6.5, at least 6.0 in each skills area
Applied Data Science MScPostgraduateAverage 6.5 or equivalent; skill minimum not stated
MBAPostgraduate6.5, at least 5.5 in each skill area

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Indian, Nigerian and Pakistani applicants

Derby's India page accepts English from three boards for undergraduate entry and says it will not accept medium of instruction evidence; other boards and a postgraduate school-English route are not mentioned. The Pakistan page says the same about MOI evidence and lists IELTS only. Its Africa page accepts WAEC for Nigeria. School routes for Nepal and Bangladesh, and NECO as English evidence, are not stated by Derby.

QualificationUndergraduatePostgraduate
Standard XII English: CBSE, CICSE or Maharashtra75% minimumNot stated; IELTS at the course score
WAEC English (Nigeria)C6 for IELTS 6.0; B3 for 7.0C6 for IELTS 6.0 or 6.5, plus 4 years of university study in English; 7.0 needs IELTS
PakistanUKVI or Academic IELTS; MOI evidence not acceptedUKVI or Academic IELTS; MOI evidence not accepted

Deposit, pre-CAS interviews, pre-sessional and the Student visa

Derby's CAS page asks for at least £8,000 of first-year fees as a deposit before a CAS request, with a short video interview on CAS Shield if you are required to have one. For January 2027 the last day to pay the deposit is 16 November 2026. Its refund policy keeps the deposit when UKVI refuses a visa after a credibility interview.

Derby's online pre-sessional course runs 12, 8 or 5 weeks (£3,740, £2,470 or £1,350 in 2026/27). For a 6.0 degree, entry is from IELTS 4.5 (4.0), 5.0 (4.5) or 5.5 (5.0); for 6.5, from 5.0 (4.5), 5.5 (5.0) or 6.0 (5.0). Passing means you progress to your degree. Derby asks for UKVI IELTS for a CAS for its pre-sessional and foundation courses.

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Derby programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does the University of Derby accept PTE?+

Yes, including the online PTE: 59 with 59 in each component for IELTS 6.0 (5.5) courses, 65 with 59 for 6.5 (5.5), 71 with 65 for 6.5 (6.0) and 76 with 65 for 7.0 (6.5).

Does Derby accept Duolingo?+

Duolingo is not on Derby's main list of accepted tests. It appears only on the page for the online iPGCE, a distance course.

Can Indian students study at Derby without IELTS?+

Undergraduates can use 75% in Standard XII English from the CBSE, CICSE or Maharashtra boards. Derby does not accept medium of instruction evidence from India.

What IELTS do I need for a master's at Derby?+

Usually 6.5 with at least 5.5 in each skill, as on the MBA page. Some courses ask for more or accept only IELTS.

How much deposit does Derby ask before the CAS?+

At least £8,000 of your first-year tuition fees, paid before you can request a CAS. You may also have to complete a short video interview on CAS Shield.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock