Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026
UNO PTE minimums by programme
From the undergraduate English proficiency page, the Office of Graduate Studies entrance exams page and, as an example programme, the MS in Computer Science catalogue entry.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate: general admission | 44 | Not stated |
| Undergraduate: engineering programmes | 53 | Not stated |
| Undergraduate: English major | 66 | Not stated |
| Graduate (Graduate Council minimum) | 53 | Not stated; programmes may ask for more |
| MS in Computer Science | 53 | Not stated |
Sending scores, validity and the IELTS comparison
Undergraduate scores must be sent directly from the testing agency to count as official. Graduate scores should be submitted electronically, or by post to the Office of Graduate Studies if electronic sending is not available; the page prints codes for TOEFL and Duolingo but not for PTE. Graduate scores are valid for two years from the test date and must be within that window at the start of your first term. UNO does not accept TOEFL MyBest, TOEFL Essentials or IELTS Indicator; it does not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core.
IELTS is 6.0, 6.5 and 7.0 for the three undergraduate bands and 6.5 for graduate study. Engineering also asks for a TOEFL writing score of 20 or IELTS writing of 5.5, with no PTE section minimum given.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If you fall short
Undergraduates who meet UNO's academic standards but not the English requirement can qualify for Conditional Undergraduate Admission, and completing UNO's Intensive English Program meets the requirement. An associate degree with a 2.5 GPA, or English Composition I and Public Speaking at C or better with a 2.5 GPA, also counts. Graduate applicants who do not meet the English requirement may be eligible for the Intensive English Program.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UNO programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does the University of Nebraska Omaha need?+
PTE Academic 44 for general undergraduate admission, 53 for engineering, 66 for the English major and 53 for graduate study.
How long is PTE valid for UNO graduate admission?+
Two years from the test date, and it must still be valid at the start of your first term.
Does UNO offer conditional admission?+
Yes, Conditional Undergraduate Admission for applicants who meet the academic standards but not the English requirement.
What PTE does the UNO MS in Computer Science need?+
PTE 53, alongside IELTS 6.5 and Duolingo 110.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Nebraska Omaha IELTS requirement
- UAH PTE requirement
- PTE for the USA: scores by university
- How long PTE scores stay valid
- All 4937 guides
Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy