University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for the University of Alabama in Huntsville?

The University of Alabama in Huntsville asks for a PTE Academic total of 51 for undergraduate admission and 59 for graduate admission. Undergraduates can also use the Pearson English Express Test at 51. Scores must come from a test taken within two years of when you submit your UAH application.
  • Guide updated · 1 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026

UAH PTE minimums by level

From the undergraduate international admissions page and the graduate international students page.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
Undergraduate (PTE Academic or Pearson English Express Test)51Not stated
Graduate59Not stated

Validity and the IELTS comparison

Both pages accept only English test scores taken within two years of when the UAH application was submitted. The graduate page adds that if your programme requires a test score, the testing agency should send official scores directly to UAH Graduate Admissions. Neither page mentions PTE Academic Online, PTE Core or a Pearson code.

UAH sets section minimums for other tests but only a total for PTE. Graduate applicants need IELTS 6.0 with no sub-score below 6.0, or Duolingo 110 with no sub-score below 105. Undergraduates need IELTS 5.5 with no sub-score below 5.5, and an overall 5.5 with no more than one sub-score between 5.0 and 5.5 is reviewed individually.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

Other routes

Graduate applicants can also complete the highest level of a CEA-accredited English language programme. You do not need a test if you graduated from an accredited US high school or university, graduated from an IB high school with the IB diploma (undergraduate), or your first language is English and you were schooled in English in a country where English is official. Neither page describes conditional admission.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UAH programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does UAH need?+

A PTE Academic total of 51 for undergraduate admission and 59 for graduate admission.

Does UAH accept the Pearson English Express Test?+

Yes, for undergraduate admission, at the same total of 51.

How old can my PTE score be for UAH?+

The test must have been taken within two years of when you submit your UAH application.

Does UAH set PTE section minimums?+

No. Only a total is given for PTE, although IELTS, TOEFL and Duolingo carry section minimums.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy