University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Westminster?

The University of Westminster's standard is IELTS 6.0 with at least 5.5 in each component for bachelor's degrees and 6.5 with at least 6.0 in writing for master's, many of which set higher component scores. Westminster accepts IELTS Academic, IELTS for UKVI, IELTS Online and One Skill Retake. In-person PTE Academic needs 59 in each component, and Duolingo is 115 or 125.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Westminster IELTS on course pages

From Westminster's English language requirements page, which notes changes for September 2026 entry. Anyone applying for a Student visa at degree level needs at least 5.5 in all components. Research degrees need 6.5 with 6.0 in each, and some 7.0. These course pages were read on 8 October 2026.

CourseLevelIELTS
Computer Science BScUndergraduate6.0, 5.5 in each component
Law LLBUndergraduate6.0, 6.0 in writing, 5.5 in the other components
Data Science and Analytics MScPostgraduate6.5, no element below 6.0
Master's degrees (standard)Postgraduate6.5, minimum 6.0 in writing

PTE, Duolingo and other tests Westminster accepts

Westminster accepts PTE Academic and PTE Academic UKVI in person only, not PTE Online, and lists PTE by component rather than an overall score for 6.0 and 6.5 courses. It no longer accepts TOEFL Home Edition, and from 18 May 2026 accepts only the SELT version of LanguageCert. Scores cannot be combined across sittings. Students in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh are strongly recommended to take the in-centre Oxford ELLT Global.

TestIELTS 6.0 coursesIELTS 6.5 coursesIELTS 7.0 courses
PTE Academic (in person)Minimum 59 in each componentMinimum 59 in each component76, minimum 59 in each component
Duolingo115, no sub-score lower than 100125, no sub-score lower than 115Not stated in the Duolingo section
LanguageCert Academic (SELT)65, minimum 60 in each component70, minimum 65 in each component75, minimum 65 or 70 in each skill
Oxford ELLT6, 5 in each skill7, 5, 6 or 7 in each skill by course8, 8 in each skill where 7.0 is required

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Indian and Nigerian applicants

Westminster accepts these qualifications if awarded within eight years of the course start, except WAEC, which must be within five years and verified through the WAEC Digital Certificate Portal. It also accepts a degree from a recognised institution in Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Uganda, South Africa, Hong Kong, Singapore or Mauritius, awarded within eight years. Westminster does not accept medium of instruction letters outside these conditions, and routes for Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh are not stated.

QualificationMinimum grade
Standard XII English: CBSE or Maharashtra State Board70% or above
Standard XII English: Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Meghalaya, Tamil Nadu, Telangana or West Bengal boards75%
WAEC EnglishC6 (equivalent to IELTS 6.0 and 6.5)

Pre-sessional English, the deposit and the Student visa

Westminster's pre-sessional courses for summer 2027 run on campus for 6 weeks (£3,455) or 10 weeks (£4,565), or online for 10 weeks (£4,566) or 13 weeks (£5,770); autumn 2026 courses are online only. For a 6.0 (5.5) degree, entry is IELTS 5.5 for 6 weeks, 5.0 for 10 weeks and 4.5 for 13 weeks; for 6.5 (6.0), it is 6.0, 5.5 and 5.0. On-campus courses accept only a UKVI-approved SELT.

Westminster's deposits and CAS page says international students offered a place pay a non-refundable £5,500 deposit, refunded on request after a visa refusal that is not due to fraud.

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Westminster programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does the University of Westminster accept PTE?+

Yes, in person only: a minimum of 59 in each component for 6.0 and 6.5 courses, and 76 overall for 7.0 courses. PTE Online is not accepted.

Does Westminster accept Duolingo?+

Yes: 115 with no sub-score below 100 for IELTS 6.0 courses, and 125 with no sub-score below 115 for IELTS 6.5 courses.

Does Westminster accept IELTS Online?+

Yes. Westminster accepts IELTS for UKVI, IELTS Academic, IELTS Online and IELTS One Skill Retake at the same score bands.

Can Indian students study at Westminster without IELTS?+

Yes, with Standard XII English at 70% from CBSE or the Maharashtra board, or 75% from eight listed state boards, awarded within eight years.

How much is the Westminster international deposit?+

Westminster's deposits page says £5,500, non-refundable except in listed cases such as a visa refusal not due to fraud.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock