University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Yale?

Yale College requires an English test from non-native speakers without two or more years at an English-medium school, on top of the SAT or ACT. Its most competitive applicants have IELTS 7 or higher, TOEFL 5 (100 on the old scale), Duolingo 120 or Cambridge 185. Yale's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences accepts only TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic, sets no admission minimum, and does not accept IELTS Online.
  • Checked against official sources · 4 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Yale English requirements at a glance

Sources: Yale Admissions' standardized testing page and the Yale GSAS standardized test FAQs. Yale's professional schools (Law, Management, Medicine and others) set their own rules and are not covered here.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Yale College (most competitive applicants)7 or higher5 or higher (old scale 100+)120 or higherNot listed
Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (admission)Required; no minimum statedRequired; no minimum statedNot acceptedNot accepted
GSAS doctoral students who will teach (Speaking)Speaking 8.0Speaking 5.5 (old scale 26)——

Yale College: required for some, 7+ is competitive

If you are a non-native English speaker without two or more years of enrollment in an English-medium school, you must submit an English proficiency test in addition to the SAT or ACT; an English test does not replace them. Yale lists TOEFL iBT (at home or at a test center), IELTS, Cambridge English (C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency or B2 First, 185+) and Duolingo. Yale also mentions InitialView, an unscored video interview.

The figures are what Yale's "most competitive applicants" typically earn, not published cut-offs. PTE is not among the tests Yale lists, and whether IELTS Online is accepted is not stated by Yale College. See Yale Admissions.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences: TOEFL or IELTS only

GSAS requires TOEFL or IELTS from almost all applicants whose native language is not English. You are exempt if your undergraduate degree is from an institution where English is the primary language of instruction and you studied there in residence for at least three years; an advanced degree does not exempt you. Only IELTS Academic sent by e-delivery is accepted: not General Training, IELTS Online or One Skill Retake. MyBest scores are not accepted, and the TOEFL Special Home Edition is accepted only if no other option is available.

GSAS states no minimum score for admission. Incoming doctoral students below the Speaking score needed to teach (IELTS 8.0, TOEFL 5.5, or 26 for tests before 21 January 2026) join a summer English program in August. How old scores may be is not stated by Yale GSAS. See the GSAS test FAQs.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Yale sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Yale GSAS page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

Does Yale accept IELTS?+

Yes. Yale College's most competitive applicants have IELTS 7 or higher. Yale GSAS accepts IELTS Academic as an alternative to TOEFL iBT.

Does Yale accept PTE?+

PTE is not among the tests Yale College lists. Yale GSAS asks applicants to take either TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic, so PTE is not accepted there.

Does Yale accept Duolingo?+

Yale College does, and its most competitive applicants score at least 120. Yale GSAS does not; it accepts only TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic.

Does Yale accept IELTS Online?+

Not at the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, which also rejects IELTS General Training and One Skill Retake. Yale College does not say.

What is the minimum IELTS for a Yale PhD?+

GSAS states no admission minimum. Doctoral students need IELTS Speaking 8.0 to teach without first attending Yale's summer English program.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock