Auburn English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Graduate School's international instructions, Undergraduate Admissions' international students page and Auburn Global's undergraduate and graduate admissions pages. Graduate IELTS band minimums and score validity are not stated by Auburn.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate | 6.5 | 4.5, 4.0 in each section (old scale 79, 16 in each) | 115 (110 in each part) | Not listed |
| Undergraduate first-year (direct) | 6.5 | 79; new-scale score not stated | Not listed | 53 |
| Auburn Global, International Direct (undergraduate) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 79) | Not listed | Not listed |
| Auburn Global, Academic Accelerator (undergraduate) | 5.5 | 3.5 (old scale 68) | Not listed | Not listed |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and stricter speaking scores for TAs
All international applicants submit an official TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo score sent directly to the Graduate School (ETS code 1005). You can self-report scores when you apply, but the application is not considered until an official score arrives. Some departments require higher scores. A previous degree from a regionally accredited US institution may remove the test, and other exemptions are decided case by case on the official government language and medium of instruction, after your official transcript arrives. See graduate international instructions.
Graduate Teaching Assistants must also show speaking skills: IELTS speaking 7, TOEFL speaking 4.5 (23 on the old scale), Duolingo speaking 130 or iTEP speaking 4.5. Auburn Global's graduate accelerator programs ask for IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 79 or 4.5, or Duolingo 115, and its Master's Accelerator Program for IELTS 6.0 or TOEFL 74 (4.0 on the new scale). See Auburn Global graduate admissions.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5, PTE 53, or Auburn Global
International first-year applicants show proficiency with TOEFL iBT 79, PTE 53 or IELTS 6.5, by earning a C or better in the equivalents of English 1100 and 1120 at an accredited US institution, or by graduating from a US high school. The ACT or SAT is also required of all international first-year applicants (SAT code 1005, ACT 0011). See international undergraduate admissions.
Students with less English proficiency can apply through Auburn Global. Its International Direct track asks for IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 4.5 (79), the Academic Accelerator Program for IELTS 5.5 or TOEFL 3.5 (68), and the three-semester Extended Accelerator Program for IELTS 5.0 or TOEFL 2.5 (60). See Auburn Global undergraduate admissions.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Auburn sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Auburn Graduate School international instructions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Auburn?+
IELTS 6.5 overall. Some departments require higher scores, and teaching assistants need IELTS speaking 7.
Does Auburn accept Duolingo and PTE?+
The Graduate School accepts Duolingo 115 with 110 in each part, but not PTE. Undergraduate admission accepts PTE 53, but Duolingo is not listed.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Auburn?+
Auburn names no exempt countries. Graduate exemptions are decided case by case on the official language and medium of instruction once your official transcript arrives.
Can I get into Auburn with IELTS 5.5?+
Yes, through Auburn Global's Academic Accelerator Program for undergraduates, which asks for IELTS 5.5. The Extended Accelerator Program starts at 5.0.
What TOEFL score does Auburn need for graduate school?+
TOEFL iBT 4.5 with at least 4.0 in each section for tests after 21 January 2026, or 79 with at least 16 in each section before that.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- University of Alabama IELTS requirement
- University of Georgia IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 9 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy