University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the Australian Institute of Higher Education (AIH)?

The Australian Institute of Higher Education (AIH) asks for Academic IELTS 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for its associate degrees, bachelor's degrees, graduate certificates and graduate diplomas, and 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for master's degrees. Its equivalence table puts these at PTE Academic 47 (no skill below 42) and 56 (47). Diplomas need IELTS 5.5 or PTE 42.
  • Checked against official sources · 13 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

AIH English test equivalences

IELTS levels are on AIH's international entry requirements page; the other tests are from Appendix 2 of its Student Admission Policy and Procedure (version 2026.2). Minimum band or skill scores are in brackets.

TestDiploma (AQF 5)Associate degree, bachelor's, grad cert, grad diploma (AQF 6–8)Master's (AQF 9)
IELTS Academic5.5 (5.0)6.0 (5.5)6.5 (6.0)
PTE Academic42 (36)47 (42)56 (47)
TOEFL iBT46 (12)64 (12)79 (14)
Cambridge CAE162 (154)169 (162)176 (169)
LanguageCert Academic546170
Michigan English Test495359
OETC in each partB in each partB in each part

Research courses and validity

AIH sets its own scores for research study. The Graduate Certificate in Research needs IELTS 6.0 with no band below 6.0, TOEFL 64 (14 in all sections), PTE 50 with no skill below 50 or CAE 169 in all skills. The Master of Research (ICT) needs IELTS 6.5 (6.0), TOEFL 79 (16), PTE 58 (50) or CAE 176 in all skills.

English certificates must have been issued within 2 years before your course starts. AIH reserves the right to ask for proof of English proficiency, and an equivalent alternative test approved by AIH can also be considered.

Free test: are you at AIH's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Waivers, EAP and Indian degrees

Other ways to meet AIH's requirement include an approved English for Academic Purposes program at an ELICOS provider with a direct entry agreement, two units at AQF level 8 or higher at an Australian provider in the last 12 months, or a bachelor's degree from an Australian university or college or international equivalent for postgraduate entry.

Senior secondary or one year of full-time university in English counts only from the countries in Appendix 3 of AIH's policy, completed within five years. The list includes Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, the Philippines and Singapore, but not India, Nepal or Pakistan, so confirm with AIH before relying on an Indian or Nepali degree. Duolingo, IELTS One Skill Retake and online tests are not stated by AIH.

Requirements vary by course, and AIH can change them between intakes. Always confirm the score on your course page before you book a test. Your student visa has its own English rules, set by the Department of Home Affairs.

Student visa (subclass 500) English rules

Your offer and your visa are assessed separately. If Home Affairs asks you for English evidence, the Student visa (subclass 500) page sets these minimums for tests taken on or after 7 August 2025: IELTS Academic 6.0, PTE Academic 47 or TOEFL iBT 67. With at least 10 weeks of ELICOS (or a Foundation or eligible Pathway program) packaged with your course they drop to 5.5, 39 and 51, and with at least 20 weeks of ELICOS to 5.0, 31 and 37.

The test must be taken within the 2 years before you lodge (Regular Evidence level), or within the 2 years before a decision if you are Streamlined Evidence level and asked for evidence. Tests delivered entirely online, such as IELTS Online and TOEFL iBT Home Edition, are not accepted for the visa, and from 21 January 2026 TOEFL candidates must select 'Taking TOEFL for Australia' when registering.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where the Australian Institute of Higher Education (AIH) publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does AIH need?+

PTE Academic 47 with no skill below 42 for associate degrees, bachelor's degrees, graduate certificates and graduate diplomas; 56 (47) for master's degrees; and 42 (36) for diplomas.

What IELTS do I need for the MBA at AIH?+

As a master's course, IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 6.0, or an equivalent score.

Does AIH accept Duolingo?+

Not stated by AIH. Its equivalence table covers CAE, IELTS, OET, PTE, TOEFL iBT, LanguageCert Academic and MET.

How old can my IELTS be for AIH?+

The certificate must have been issued within 2 years before your course starts.

Can Indian students skip IELTS at AIH?+

Not through the English-medium study route: AIH's approved country list does not include India, Nepal or Pakistan. Its postgraduate waiver also mentions a bachelor's that is an international equivalent, so ask AIH whether your degree qualifies.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 13 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock