Cal Poly English requirements at a glance
Source: Admissions' English exam requirements, which apply to international first-year, transfer and graduate applicants. IELTS and Duolingo scores must be from within two years; TOEFL score validity and section minimums are not stated by Cal Poly.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (university minimum) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 80) | 115 | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate first-year and transfer | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 80) | 115 | Not accepted |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and who gets a waiver
Cal Poly requires the TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo from all applicants whose native language is not English, and some individual graduate programs require higher scores. Each program has its own selection criteria, so check your program or its Faculty Graduate Coordinator; see graduate selection criteria. TOEFL scores go to institution code 4038. Conditional admission is not stated by Cal Poly.
Graduate applicants with an undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited institution of higher education get an automatic waiver. Citizens of listed countries, including Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, South Africa and the United Kingdom, are also waived automatically. India is not on the list. Other waiver requests go on the graduate form with official transcripts and are reviewed individually as an appeal, with a decision letter within three weeks. See English exam requirements.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or three years of English-medium study
First-year and transfer applicants need the same IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4.5 (80 before 21 January 2026) or Duolingo 115. Undergraduates may be eligible for a waiver after at least three years at an institution whose language of instruction is English; transfer applicants must also have completed General Education Area A (English Composition, Critical Thinking and Public Speaking) with a B or higher. Cal Poly does not name India. See English exam requirements.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Cal Poly sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Cal Poly English exam requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Cal Poly SLO?+
IELTS 6.5 within the last two years. Some individual graduate programs require higher scores, so check your program.
Does Cal Poly accept PTE?+
No. Cal Poly requires the TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo from applicants whose native language is not English.
What Duolingo score does Cal Poly need?+
115, taken within the last two years and sent from the Duolingo site to California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Cal Poly?+
No. India is not on the country of citizenship waiver list. Graduate applicants with a degree from a regionally accredited institution are waived, and others can file a waiver request.
What TOEFL score does Cal Poly need on the new scale?+
4.5 for tests taken on or after 21 January 2026, or 80 on the old internet-based scale.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- San Jose State IELTS requirement
- Cal State Fullerton IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy