Cal State Fullerton English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Studies' international applicants page and the Office of Admissions' international requirements page. Section minimums are not stated, except TESOL's TOEFL Speaking 26.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (most master's, credentials, certificates) | 6.5 | 4 (old scale 80) | 110 | 58 |
| Graduate, College of Business and Economics | 7.0 | 4.5 (old scale 88–89) | 120 | 65 |
| Graduate, TESOL | 7.0 | 4.5 (old scale 89 with Speaking 26) | 135 | 65 |
| Graduate, English | 7.5 | 5 (old scale 100) | 140 | 65 |
| Undergraduate | 5.5 | 3.5 (old scale 61) | 110 | 43 |
Graduate: proof needed before a decision
Regardless of citizenship, applicants whose education was not in a majority English-language country must prove English proficiency before an admission decision is made. Art with a concentration in Graphic Design asks for IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 85 or 4.5, PTE 58 or Duolingo 115. Scores are valid for two years from the test date. For IELTS, choose "Cal State Apply" as the e-delivery account and self-report your score and TRF number; TOEFL goes to code 4589. See Graduate Studies.
The waiver covers a bachelor's degree from a country where English is the native language, from a list that includes Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore and the UK. India is not on it. Conditional admission for English is not stated by Cal State Fullerton; its "provisional admission" concerns official documents sent after admission.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 5.5 or PTE 43
Undergraduates need TOEFL 61 (3.5 on the new scale; Home and Paper editions accepted), IELTS Academic 5.5, PTE Academic 43 or Duolingo 110, valid within two years before 30 March for fall or 31 August for spring. First-year applicants are waived with three years of high school taught in English in the US or a country where English is the native language of instruction, or with SAT Reading and Writing 550, ACT English 22, AP English 3 or IB English A Literature HL 4. See Admissions.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Cal State Fullerton sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the CSUF Graduate Studies international applicants page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at Cal State Fullerton?+
IELTS 6.5 for most master's programs. Graduate business and TESOL need 7.0, and the English MA needs 7.5.
Does Cal State Fullerton accept PTE?+
Yes. Most graduate programs need PTE 58, business, TESOL and English need 65, and undergraduates need 43.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Cal State Fullerton?+
No. India is not on CSUF's list of countries whose degrees waive the English requirement.
What TOEFL score does CSUF need on the new scale?+
4 for most master's programs, 4.5 for business, TESOL and Graphic Design, 5 for English, and 3.5 for undergraduates.
How long are IELTS scores valid for Cal State Fullerton?+
Two years from the date the test was taken.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Cal State LA IELTS requirement
- San Diego State IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy