Cal State LA English requirements at a glance
Sources: Admissions' English Language Proficiency page, the international graduate admission page and the MS Electrical Engineering admission page. Section minimums are not stated by Cal State LA.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate and post-baccalaureate | 6.0 | 4.0 (old scale 80) | 105 | 53 |
| Undergraduate (first-year and transfer) | 5.5 | 3.5 (old scale 61) | 95 | 44 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.0, and the waiver question
Official scores must come from the testing agency: TOEFL to code 4399, IELTS electronically to Cal State Apply, PTE to California State University, Los Angeles, and Duolingo through your Duolingo account. The MS in Electrical Engineering repeats TOEFL 80 iBT and points to the university page for IELTS and Duolingo. Conditional admission for English is not stated by Cal State LA.
The English proficiency page waives the test for a bachelor's or higher from a country where English is the main or only language used in schools, such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore or the UK; India is not on it. The international graduate page words it as a bachelor's not earned at an institution where English is the only language of instruction, so ask Admissions before relying on an English-medium Indian degree.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 5.5 or Duolingo 95
Undergraduates need TOEFL 61 (or 3.5 for tests from 21 January 2026), IELTS 5.5, PTE 44 or Duolingo 95. First-year and lower-division transfer applicants are waived after three or more years of high school taught in English in the US or a listed country; upper-division transfers after 60 transferable semester units in English, including English composition and oral communication with a C or better. See English Language Proficiency.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Cal State LA sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Cal State LA English Language Proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at Cal State LA?+
IELTS 6.0 overall. Section minimums are not stated.
Does Cal State LA accept PTE?+
Yes. Graduate applicants need PTE Academic 53 and undergraduates need 44.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Cal State LA?+
Not by country: India is not on the waiver list. The international graduate page refers to English being the only language of instruction at your institution, so confirm with Admissions before skipping the test.
What Duolingo score does Cal State LA need?+
105 for graduate and post-baccalaureate applicants and 95 for undergraduates.
How long are scores valid for Cal State LA?+
Two years from your test date. Official scores must be sent directly by the testing agency.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Cal State Fullerton IELTS requirement
- Cal State East Bay IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy